MenuthereMenuthere

What you get

Online ordering systemYour own site for delivery and takeawayQR code menuA menu guests open by scanning a QRQR code orderingGuests order and pay from the tableWhatsApp OrderingCustomers order by sending “Hi”Delivery managementZones, charges and your own ridersBilling software & POSBills, KOTs and counter salesLoyalty programPoints that bring customers back

By business

RestaurantsCafés & Coffee ShopsBakeriesCloud KitchensPizzaBars & PubsCateringFood TrucksHotels & Resorts

Integrations

Google Business SyncSync menu to Google Maps
All featuresEverything Menuthere does, in one listAgentsNewEarn 20% for every restaurant you bring
FeaturesEvery feature, explained simplyFree ToolsQR cards, price calculators, posters and moreFree WhatsApp Order PageTake orders on WhatsApp from one free linkBlogIdeas and guides for running your restaurantDocsHow every feature works, step by stepHelp CenterGet support and find answersDownload AppGet the app for iOS and AndroidWhatsApp Cost CalculatorWhat Meta's per-message rates cost youCommission CalculatorWhat delivery apps really take per order
PricingRefer & EarnNew
Log inConnect with Founder
MenuthereMenuthere

What you get

Online ordering systemQR code menuQR code orderingWhatsApp OrderingDelivery managementBilling software & POSLoyalty program

By business

RestaurantsCafés & Coffee ShopsBakeriesCloud KitchensPizzaBars & PubsCateringFood TrucksHotels & Resorts

Integrations

Google Business SyncAll featuresAgentsNew
FeaturesEvery feature, explained simplyFree ToolsQR cards, price calculators, posters and moreFree WhatsApp Order PageTake orders on WhatsApp from one free linkBlogIdeas and guides for running your restaurantDocsHow every feature works, step by stepHelp CenterGet support and find answersDownload AppGet the app for iOS and AndroidWhatsApp Cost CalculatorWhat Meta's per-message rates cost youCommission CalculatorWhat delivery apps really take per order
PricingRefer & EarnNew
Connect with FounderLog in
Home

Kilojoule menu labelling in Australia: who must show kJ

Updated 20 October 2026

Kilojoule menu labelling is compulsory in NSW, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia and the ACT, but only for chains: 20 or more outlets in the state (7 or more in the ACT) or 50 or more nationally. Covered chains must show the average kilojoules (kJ) of each standard menu item next to its name or price, in at least the same font size as the price, plus the statement "The average adult daily energy intake is 8,700 kJ". An independent café or a small group with a few sites isn't covered. Menuthere stores calories in kcal, so a covered chain writes the kJ figure in each dish description.

Create your free ordering pageBook a demo (opens in a new tab)

In short

  • Who: chains with the same trading name and a standard menu, at the outlet counts below. Dine-in-only restaurants are exempt in NSW, Queensland and SA, but not in Victoria or the ACT.
  • What: average kJ per standard item, shown as "kJ", plus the 8,700 kJ reference statement on each menu.
  • Where: menu boards, printed menus and price tags, and in NSW and Queensland also ordering websites, apps and QR code menus.
  • Not covered: WA, Tasmania and the NT had no kilojoule menu law on their government sites as of October 2026.
  • Converting: kJ = kcal × 4.184. A 560 kcal burger is about 2,340 kJ.

The rules state by state

As of October 2026, from each regulator's own page:

State or territoryCovered chainsOnline menus and appsNotable points
NSW (Fast Choices, NSW Food Authority)20+ outlets in NSW or 50+ nationally, same trading name, standard menu, ready-to-eat takeaway itemsYes: menus include digital menus via links, QR codes, kiosks, apps and webpagesExempt: dine-in-only restaurants and cafés, convenience stores, service stations, caterers
Victoria (Food Act 1984, kilojoule labelling scheme)20+ outlets in Victoria or 50+ nationally with at least one in Victoria; chain supermarkets over 1,000 m²The Department of Health has checked online PDF and interactive menus in its compliance surveysIn force since 1 May 2018. Exempt: caterers, mobile and temporary food businesses, cinema candy bars, service stations
Queensland (Fast Choices, Food Act 2006)20+ outlets in Queensland or 50+ nationallyYes: online ordering websites, mobile phone apps and printed menus delivered to householdsBusinesses that choose to show kJ voluntarily must follow the same display rules. Exempt: dine-in-only restaurants, mobile food vehicles
South Australia (Food Regulations 2017)20+ outlets in SA or 50+ nationallyNot stated on SA Health's page12 months to comply after opening the 20th SA or 50th national outlet. Exempt: supermarkets, caterers, dine-in-only outlets
ACT (Food Act 2001)7+ outlets in the ACT or 50+ nationallyNot stated on the ACT pageCovers dine-in chain restaurants and convenience stores too. kJ may be rounded to the nearest 10
WA, Tasmania, NTNo kilojoule menu law found–Chains often show kJ nationally anyway; check with the state health department

Each scheme also has short-term trial item exemptions (for example, items sold for 60 days or less at five or fewer outlets in Victoria and SA).

What a covered chain must display

The five schemes line up closely. From the NSW, Victorian and ACT guidance:

  1. Average kJ for every standard food item. A standard item is made to a standard recipe and portion, even if it comes in sizes. Combination meals with default items count.
  2. Shown as "kJ". Not calories, not "Cal".
  3. Next to the item's name or price, so it's clearly linked to it.
  4. In at least the same font size as the price (or as the name, if no price is shown).
  5. The reference statement on each menu. Its wording is fixed: "The average adult daily energy intake is 8,700 kJ" in NSW, Victoria, Queensland and the ACT. SA Health's page words it slightly differently, so check the SA user guide.
  6. Statement font size at least as large as the item names (or the largest name on a display cabinet).
  7. Calculated the Food Standards Code way, under Standard 1.2.8 and Schedule 11. FSANZ's Nutrition Panel Calculator is one accepted tool.

Victoria's online checks found that the 8,700 kJ statement was often reworded or appeared only on some web pages, which counted against the chain. Put the statement word for word on every menu page that lists items.

Worked example: turning kcal into kJ

Many suppliers and recipe tools give energy in kilocalories. One kilocalorie is exactly 4.184 kJ (NIST). The ACT lets you round to the nearest 10 kJ. Example values for a burger chain's menu (prices as of October 2026):

ItemPriceEnergy in kcal× 4.184Shown on the menu
Chicken burgerA$13.905602,343.02,340 kJ
Large chipsA$5.504301,799.11,800 kJ
Chocolate thickshakeA$7.906202,594.12,590 kJ
Flat white, regularA$5.20120502.1500 kJ
Meal: burger + chips + thickshakeA$24.901,6106,736.26,740 kJ

The meal alone is about 77% of the 8,700 kJ reference figure (6,740 ÷ 8,700). Work out each combination from its default items and show the kJ in the same size as the meal's price.

To go the other way, divide kJ by 4.184: 8,700 kJ is about 2,079 kcal.

How to show kJ on a Menuthere menu

Menuthere's nutrition field is Calories (kcal per serving), shown to customers as, for example, "560 kcal". There's no kilojoule field. A chain that has to show kJ can:

  1. Write the kJ in the dish name or description, for example "Chicken burger, 2,340 kJ". A figure in the dish name sits right next to the price.
  2. Leave the Calories field empty if you don't want a kcal figure next to the kJ one. Customers then see only what you wrote.
  3. Add the reference statement. On Lite, the announcement bar (up to 100 characters) can carry "The average adult daily energy intake is 8,700 kJ" across the top of the menu. You can also put it in a category description.
  4. Check the font size rule with your regulator. Menuthere doesn't let you set the description size to match the price, so a covered chain should confirm its layout meets the rule before relying on it.

For most Menuthere users, independent cafés and restaurants with one or a few sites, none of this is required. Showing calories or kilojoules is optional. In Queensland, if you do choose to show kJ, the state says it must be shown the way the Act sets out.

Allergens are a separate, universal duty: see allergen labelling for restaurants and allergens and nutrition in Menuthere. For prices that include GST, see GST on restaurant and takeaway food.

The same menu runs on your online ordering page, your QR code menu and, for groups that want their own app, the Branded App (US$99 a month). Plans are on the pricing page.

This page is general information as of October 2026. Check details with your state or territory food regulator.

Create your free ordering pageBook a demo (opens in a new tab)

FAQs

Do I have to show kilojoules on my café menu?

Only if you're part of a chain with a standard menu and enough outlets: 20 or more in NSW, Victoria, Queensland or South Australia, 7 or more in the ACT, or 50 or more nationally. Independent cafés aren't covered.

What is the 8,700 kJ statement?

It's the reference statement covered chains must show on each menu: "The average adult daily energy intake is 8,700 kJ". It must be easy to read and at least as large as the item names.

Does kJ labelling apply to online menus and apps?

In NSW and Queensland, yes. NSW counts digital menus reached by links, QR codes, kiosks, apps and webpages, and Queensland names online ordering websites and mobile apps. Victoria checks online menus in its compliance surveys.

How do I convert calories to kilojoules?

Multiply the kilocalories by 4.184. For example, 560 kcal × 4.184 = 2,343 kJ, which you can show as 2,340 kJ if you round to the nearest 10.

Do WA, Tasmania and the Northern Territory have kJ menu laws?

We found no kilojoule menu labelling law on their government websites as of October 2026. Many national chains show kJ in every state anyway. Check with the state health department before relying on this.

Can Menuthere show kilojoules?

Menuthere's nutrition field is in calories. A chain that must show kilojoules can write the kJ figure in the dish name or description and put the 8,700 kJ statement in the announcement bar.

Sources (6)
  • NSW Food Authority, Fast Choices program: nutritional information menu labelling — foodauthority.nsw.gov.au/retail/cafes-restaurants-and-retail-outlets/kJs-on-menus (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
  • Victorian Department of Health, Kilojoule labelling scheme Victoria (sampling, verification and menu board surveillance report; page updated 13 October 2025) — health.vic.gov.au/publications/kilojoule-labelling-scheme-victoria (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
  • Queensland Government, Kilojoule menu labelling (last updated 6 August 2025) — qld.gov.au/health/staying-healthy/food-pantry/food-labelling/kilojoule-menu-labelling (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
  • SA Health, Composition and labelling of food: labelling of kilojoule information in chain food outlets (last updated 17 July 2026) — sahealth.sa.gov.au/wps/wcm/connect/public+content/sa+health+internet/public+health/food+safety+for+businesses/composition+and+labelling+of+food (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
  • ACT Government, Displaying kilojoule content of food (last updated 30 June 2026) — act.gov.au/business/food-safety-for-businesses/compliance-and-food-safety/displaying-kilojoule-content-of-food (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
  • NIST, Guide to the SI, Appendix B.9 (1 kcal thermochemical = 4,184 J exactly) — nist.gov/pml/special-publication-811/nist-guide-si-appendix-b-conversion-factors/nist-guide-si-appendix-b9 (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
Menuthere

The all-in-one online ordering and delivery platform for restaurants. Launch your own website, skip aggregator commissions, and grow your business.

Features

  • All features
  • QR code menu
  • Table ordering
  • Online ordering
  • WhatsApp ordering
  • Billing & POS
  • Delivery management
  • Loyalty program
  • WhatsApp marketing

Solutions

  • Restaurants
  • Cafés
  • Cloud kitchens
  • Bakeries
  • Google Business Sync
  • Owners
  • Agencies

Resources

  • Help Center
  • Docs
  • Blog
  • Commission calculator
  • WhatsApp cost calculator
  • Free tools
  • Free WhatsApp order page
  • Compare
  • Video tutorials
  • Download App
  • Get started

Legal

  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Service
  • Refund Policy
  • About us
  • Contact
  • Editorial policy

Online ordering by country

  • USA
  • UK
  • Canada
  • Australia
  • India
  • UAE
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Qatar
  • Egypt
  • Singapore
  • Malaysia
  • Indonesia
  • Philippines
  • Pakistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Sri Lanka
  • Nigeria
  • Kenya
  • South Africa
© 2026 Menuthere. All rights reserved.