Shipday alternatives for restaurants that run their own drivers
Updated October 20, 2026
The best Shipday alternative depends on whether you already have an ordering system. Shipday is delivery-dispatch software: a driver app, auto-dispatch, route optimisation and proof of delivery that sit next to the system that takes your orders. For US restaurants its plans start at $99 a month with 300 orders, then $0.20 an order (pricing page, read October 20, 2026). If you also need the ordering website, Menuthere Pro puts ordering, WhatsApp order updates and an app for your own riders in one $39 plan with no per-order fee. If you keep your current ordering system and need deeper dispatch, Tookan or Onfleet are the closer swaps.
In short
- Shipday takes no orders itself. It offers order forms, and connects to 100+ partners such as Toast, Square, ChowNow and Flipdish. So most restaurants pay two vendors.
- Prices change by country. US restaurants see $99, $199 and $399 plans; the UK and most countries start at $49; India and some other markets get a free plan and a $29 plan.
- Shipday wins on dispatch: auto-dispatch and route optimisation from its first paid plan, and photo and signature proof of delivery even on the free plan.
- Menuthere wins on one bill: ordering website, QR ordering, WhatsApp updates and a rider app with a live map for customers, $39 a month, no fee per order. Riders are assigned by hand.
- Toast, Flipdish and Slerp each point restaurants with their own drivers to Shipday on their own help pages.
What does Shipday cost in 2026?
Shipday's pricing page shows a different set of plans depending on where you are. All prices are in US dollars, "starting at", read on October 20, 2026. No yearly prices are published.
| Plan | US restaurants | UK and most countries | India and other "emerging" markets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic (free) | Not offered | Not offered | $0, up to 300 orders a month, 10 drivers |
| Professional Lite | Not offered | Not offered | $29, 300 orders, then $0.06 an order |
| Professional | Not offered | $49, 300 orders, then $0.10 an order | Not offered |
| Branded Elite | $99, 300 orders, then $0.20 an order | $99, 300 orders, then $0.20 | $99, 300 orders, then $0.20 |
| Business AI Lite | $199, 750 orders, then $0.20 | $199, 750 orders, then $0.20 | $199, 750 orders, then $0.20 |
| Business AI | $399, unlimited orders per location | $399, 1,500 orders, then $0.25 | Not offered |
What each tier adds: live ETA tracking links and photo and signature proof of delivery are on every plan, including Basic. Auto-dispatch, route optimisation and "SMS/WhatsApp notifications" start on Professional Lite or Professional. A branded tracking page and on-demand DoorDash and Uber couriers start on Branded Elite. Shipday says the driver app is free on the App Store and Google Play, and it offers a 14-day free trial with no card.
On-demand couriers through Shipday (from Branded Elite): DoorDash from $6.49 for the first 5 miles, Uber $6.49 up to 5 miles, and Shipday adds a 3% fee on every third-party delivery payment.
Who sends restaurants to Shipday?
Several ordering and POS companies don't build a driver app themselves and point restaurants with their own drivers to Shipday. We only list a company here if its own site says so.
| Company | What its own site says (read October 20, 2026) | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Toast | A support article, "Getting Started: Shipday Integration for Restaurant-Managed Deliveries", describes dispatching through Shipday, with drivers on the Shipday Drive app (updated August 28, 2026) | Toast's own Delivery Mode assigns clocked-in staff drivers from the POS; a driver app means adding Shipday |
| Flipdish | A help article on Shipday driver management with Flipdish POS: drivers "must use the Shipday Drive app" | Two vendors for ordering and delivery |
| Slerp | Its delivery page: "If you run your own drivers, Shipday helps you manage self-delivery with tracking"; its help centre says the integration needs at least a Shipday Professional subscription | Slerp's own couriers are booked automatically; your own drivers go through Shipday |
Shipday's integrations page also lists Square, ChowNow, UpMenu, Menufy, Otter, GloriaFood and others among 38 ordering, POS and e-commerce systems. GloriaFood reaches end of life on April 30, 2027, so a GloriaFood + Shipday setup has to change anyway.
Shipday alternatives compared
Prices from each company's own pricing page, read October 20, 2026, in US dollars a month. This isn't a ranked list; Menuthere is included because we make it.
| Tool | What it is | Price | Takes orders? | Driver app and dispatch | Customer updates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shipday | Dispatch + driver app | US restaurants from $99 (300 orders, then $0.20 an order) | Order forms only | Auto-dispatch, route optimisation, photo proof of delivery | Live ETA link; SMS/WhatsApp on paid plans |
| Menuthere Pro | Ordering website, QR, WhatsApp + rider app | $39, no per-order fee | Yes, 0% commission | iOS and Android rider app; you assign each order by hand; no route optimisation or proof of delivery | Live map page with a Call button; WhatsApp updates from your own number |
| Tookan | Generic dispatch | Free (100 tasks, 2 agents); Startup $99 (1,000 tasks), Growth $249, Standard $399, billed yearly | No | Auto-assignment and proof of delivery on Free; route optimisation is a paid add-on | Not stated on its pricing page |
| Onfleet | Mid-market dispatch | Launch $619 (2,500 tasks), Scale $1,349, Enterprise $3,099 | No | Photo and signature proof of delivery and basic route optimisation from Launch; auto-dispatch from Scale | Status and ETA notifications; SMS billed per segment |
| Slice (US pizzerias) | Ordering + POS | $39 + $3 per card order, or $99 + $2 per order | Yes | Slice POS tracks in-house drivers with live GPS; Uber and DoorDash drivers on demand from $6.90 an order | Not stated |
| UpMenu | Ordering + driver module | Not readable on its site (blocked) | Yes | Driver app as an extra module; staff see drivers on a live map | Email, SMS or app notification |
More detail: Menuthere vs Shipday, Slice alternatives, UpMenu alternatives, Flipdish alternatives, Slerp alternatives and the list of online ordering with your own delivery drivers.
Worked example: 600 deliveries a month with 3 drivers
A US restaurant takes 600 delivery orders a month and runs 3 of its own drivers. List prices, before taxes, card fees and driver wages (which are the same on every option).
| Monthly cost | Ordering system + Shipday Branded Elite | Menuthere Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Dispatch / riders software | $99 | Included |
| Orders over the plan's 300 | 300 × $0.20 = $60 | $0 |
| Ordering website | Your existing system's monthly fee | Included, 0% commission |
| Customer messages | SMS/WhatsApp notifications included | About 1,800 WhatsApp order updates × about $0.0034 = about $6, paid to Meta with no markup |
| Total, before your ordering system | $159 | about $45 |
The Shipday column still needs an ordering system on top. For example, Menufy lists $149 to $179 a month and ChowNow $229 to $449 on their pricing pages. In the UK, Shipday Professional would be $49 + 300 × $0.10 = $79, before the ordering system.
In the US, WhatsApp sends order updates, not promotions. Meta does not deliver WhatsApp marketing messages to +1 numbers, so use email for offers. Customers without WhatsApp still get the tracking link on their order confirmation.
When is Shipday the better choice?
- You already have an ordering system or POS you like. Shipday connects to 100+ partners, so you keep it and add dispatch.
- You run many drivers and need automation. Auto-dispatch and route optimisation save real time at volume. Menuthere has none of these; you assign each order to a rider yourself.
- You need proof of delivery. Shipday includes photo and signature proof on every plan. Menuthere has no proof of delivery for your own riders.
- Your customers expect SMS. Shipday sends SMS updates. Menuthere sends updates by WhatsApp and email, not SMS.
When is Menuthere the better choice?
- You need the ordering website too. One $39 Pro plan replaces an ordering system plus a dispatch tool, with 0% commission and no per-order fee.
- You have a few riders. Assigning by hand from the Orders screen is quick at that size, and the rider gets a push notification in the Menuthere Delivery app on iPhone or Android.
- Your customers use WhatsApp. Order updates come from your own WhatsApp number, and the "dispatched" message carries a Track Order button to a live map. See can customers track my own rider live without an app?
- You want a courier for the rush. Outside India, Uber Direct works on your own Uber account alongside your riders. See using your own riders and a courier app at the same time.
Ordering and your own riders, one plan. then try Pro free for 7 days (card needed). Questions?
Frequently asked questions
What is the best Shipday alternative?
It depends on what you need. If you also need an ordering website, Menuthere Pro is $39 a month for ordering, WhatsApp updates and a rider app with a live map, with no per-order fee. If you only want dispatch and keep your ordering system, Tookan (free plan, then from $99 a month billed yearly) and Onfleet (from $619 a month) are the closer swaps.
How much does Shipday cost?
It depends on your country. For US restaurants, Shipday's pricing page lists Branded Elite at $99 a month with 300 orders, Business AI Lite at $199 with 750, and Business AI at $399 with unlimited orders per location; extra orders cost $0.20 each. In the UK and most countries plans start at $49, and in India there is a free plan for up to 300 orders and a $29 plan.
Does Shipday have a free plan?
Only in some countries. In India and other markets Shipday lists a free Basic plan with up to 300 orders a month and 10 drivers. US restaurants don't see a free plan; Shipday offers a 14-day free trial with no card instead.
Does Shipday take online orders?
Not as a full ordering system. Shipday offers order forms, including online order forms with Stripe payment, and connects to more than 100 ordering systems and POS. Most restaurants pair it with an ordering website such as Toast, Square, ChowNow or Flipdish.
Does Menuthere auto-assign orders to drivers?
No. On Menuthere Pro you assign each order to one of your own riders from the Orders screen, and the rider gets a push notification in the Menuthere Delivery app. Menuthere has no auto-dispatch, route optimisation or proof of delivery for your own riders.
Can I send WhatsApp order updates to US customers?
Yes, order updates work. Meta does not deliver WhatsApp marketing messages to +1 numbers, so WhatsApp carries order updates (utility messages, about $0.0034 each) but not promotions; use email for offers.
Sources (16)
- Shipday pricing: https://www.shipday.com/pricing (accessed 20 Oct 2026). The page's script shows four variants by country (US merchant, US delivery company, international, emerging). US merchant: Branded Elite $99 (300 orders, $0.20 overage), Business AI Lite $199 (750, $0.20), Business AI $399 ("Unlimited orders per location"). International: Professional $49 (300, $0.10), Branded Elite $99, Business AI Lite $199, Business AI $399 (1,500, $0.25). Emerging (incl. IN, PK, LK, NP, much of Africa): Basic $0 ("Maximum 300 orders per month", 10 drivers), Professional Lite $29 (300, $0.06). Basic: "Live ETA tracking for customers", "Photo and signature proof of delivery". Pro Lite/Professional: "Standard auto-dispatch", "Route optimization", "SMS/WhatsApp notifications", "Customer order forms". Elite: "Branded delivery tracking". Enterprise "Starts at $3,499/month".
- Shipday homepage: https://www.shipday.com/ (accessed 20 Oct 2026): "100+" integrated partners; "150+ Countries represented".
- Shipday integrations: https://www.shipday.com/integrations (accessed 20 Oct 2026): 38 ordering/POS/e-commerce integrations (incl. Toast, Square, ChowNow, Flipdish, Slerp, UpMenu, Menufy, Otter, GloriaFood) and 6 courier integrations.
- Shipday driver app: https://www.shipday.com/features/mobile-app-for-drivers (accessed 20 Oct 2026): "available for free on both the Apple App Store and Google Play Store".
- Shipday third-party delivery FAQ: https://www.shipday.com/3rd-party-delivery-faq (accessed 20 Oct 2026): DoorDash from $6.49 for the first 5 miles; Uber $6.49 up to 5 mi; "We charge 3% transaction fees for all 3rd party payment".
- Shipday FAQ: https://www.shipday.com/faq (accessed 20 Oct 2026): 14-day free trial, no credit card; free plan "in many countries".
- Toast support: https://support.toasttab.com/en/article/Getting-Started-Shipday-Integration-for-Restaurant-Managed-Deliveries (last updated Aug 28, 2026; accessed 20 Oct 2026). Toast Delivery Mode: https://support.toasttab.com/en/article/Delivery-Mode-1493048871021 (updated Sep 30, 2026): "Only drivers that are clocked in can be dispatched."
- Flipdish help: https://help.flipdish.com/en/articles/13714052-using-shipday-driver-management-with-flipdish-pos (accessed 20 Oct 2026): "Drivers must use the Shipday Drive app."
- Slerp delivery: https://www.slerp.com/delivery/ (dateModified 2 Oct 2026; accessed 20 Oct 2026): "If you run your own drivers, Shipday helps you manage self-delivery with tracking." Slerp support: https://support.slerp.com/knowledge/how-do-i-integrate-slerp-orders-with-shipday : "requires at least a Professional subscription".
- GloriaFood homepage: https://www.gloriafood.com/ (accessed 20 Oct 2026): "GloriaFood will reach end of life on April 30, 2027."
- Tookan pricing: https://jungleworks.com/tookan/pricing/ (accessed 20 Oct 2026): Free Forever $0 (100 tasks, 2 agents, auto assignment, proof of delivery); Startup $99/$129 (1,000 tasks), Growth $249/$299, Standard $399/$499 (annual/monthly billing); route optimisation "Paid".
- Onfleet pricing: https://onfleet.com/pricing (accessed 20 Oct 2026): Launch $619 (2,500 tasks; photo and signature proof of delivery; basic route optimization), Scale $1,349 (auto-dispatch), Enterprise $3,099; SMS billed per segment.
- Slice: https://slice.com/pricing/ and https://slice.com/products/point-of-sale-for-pizza-shops/ (accessed 20 Oct 2026): $39 + $3.00 per card order; $99 + $2.00 per online or phone order; Flex Delivery from $6.90 per order; "Monitor in-house drivers with live GPS".
- UpMenu help centre (accessed 20 Oct 2026): https://help.upmenu.com/en/articles/10754341-driver-app-courier-app ; https://help.upmenu.com/en/articles/10582507-managing-your-own-drivers-deliveries ; https://help.upmenu.com/en/articles/17506525-messaging-the-customer . upmenu.com pricing returned 403.
- Menufy pricing https://restaurant.menufy.com/pricing ($149/$179) and ChowNow pricing https://get.chownow.com/pricing/ ($229–$449) (accessed 20 Oct 2026).
- Meta, marketing message limits: https://developers.facebook.com/documentation/business-messaging/whatsapp/templates/marketing-templates/per-user-limits (accessed 20 Oct 2026). US utility rate ~US$0.0034 from Meta's rate card effective 1 Oct 2026 (WHATSAPP-RIDER-STRATEGY.md §7).