Uber Eats vs DoorDash for restaurants in Australia (2026)
Updated 20 October 2026
Uber Eats and DoorDash charge Australian restaurants the same 30% when their couriers deliver, so the difference is in the other plans and fees. Uber Eats is cheaper for pickup (8% vs 15%), DoorDash is a little cheaper for self-delivery (15%, or 12% on DashPass, vs 16%), and DoorDash has no activation fee while Uber Eats charges A$700 plus GST for your first location. Both add 10% GST on their fee. Since Menulog closed on 26 November 2025, these are the two big apps left. A direct order through your own Menuthere page costs only Stripe's card fee, about A$0.96 on a A$40 order.
In short
- Courier delivery: 30% on both, plus GST on the fee: A$13.20 on a A$40 order.
- Pickup: Uber Eats 8%, DoorDash 15%.
- You deliver: Uber Eats 16%. DoorDash 15%, or 12% on DashPass orders, plus A$9.99 when you hand an order to a Dasher.
- Set-up: Uber Eats A$700 + GST activation per first location (A$350 + GST after that). DoorDash none, with a 30-day 0% commission trial.
- Payouts: Uber Eats weekly. DoorDash weekly (deposited Thursday) or daily if you opt in.
- Direct order on Menuthere: 0% commission, Stripe 1.65% + A$0.30 per domestic card, card surcharges banned since 1 October 2026.
What happened to Menulog
Menulog stopped operating in Australia on 26 November 2025. Before closing it signed a commercial agreement with Uber Eats: from that date, Menulog customers were redirected to the Uber Eats app. For former Menulog restaurants, Uber announced a 0% Uber Eats Fee on delivery orders for 180 days and a waived activation fee. That offer was tied to the transition, so check your own order form for what applies now.
For restaurants that were on Menulog only, the choice now is Uber Eats, DoorDash, both, or ordering through your own website. Being on both apps at once is allowed: see can I be on Uber Eats and DoorDash at the same time?
Fees side by side
From each app's Australian merchant pricing page, read 20 October 2026:
| Uber Eats | DoorDash | |
|---|---|---|
| App courier delivers | 30% | 30% |
| You deliver | 16% | 15% (12% on DashPass orders), plus A$9.99 per order handed to a Dasher |
| Pickup | 8% | 15% |
| Worked out on | Item price including GST | Order subtotal |
| GST on the fee | Yes, fees exclude GST, so 10% is added | Yes, shown as commission tax on statements |
| Activation fee | A$700 + GST first location, A$350 + GST each extra location, taken from payouts in weekly instalments | None |
| Tablet | A$200 + GST if a device is lost, damaged or not returned | A$0 a week in Australia |
| Card processing | Included | Included |
| Free trial | Not listed | 30 days at 0% delivery and pickup commission |
| Must you be GST-registered? | Yes, the merchant terms require it | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Ordering on your own website | Webshop: 25% (Uber delivers), 6% (you deliver or pickup) | Online Ordering: 1.75% + A$0.30 card fee, A$5.50 delivery fee incl. GST |
Detail and sources: Uber Eats commission in Australia and DoorDash commission in Australia. Every country's rates: delivery app commission.
Worked example: one A$40 order, five ways
Order: food worth A$40.00 with GST-inclusive prices, a Friday-night order in Perth (prices as of October 2026). Commission is shown on A$40 for both apps; DoorDash's pricing page says it charges on the order subtotal, so check your statement to see whether yours is worked out before or after GST.
| Channel | Fee | GST on fee | Total cost | You receive |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Uber Eats, Uber courier (30%) | A$12.00 | A$1.20 | A$13.20 | A$26.80 |
| DoorDash Marketplace, Dasher (30%) | A$12.00 | A$1.20 | A$13.20 | A$26.80 |
| Uber Eats, pickup (8%) | A$3.20 | A$0.32 | A$3.52 | A$36.48 |
| DoorDash, pickup (15%) | A$6.00 | A$0.60 | A$6.60 | A$33.40 |
| Your Menuthere page, card paid via your Stripe | A$0.96 | included | A$0.96 | A$39.04 |
How the direct line works: Stripe charges 1.65% + A$0.30 on a domestic card (A$0.66 + A$0.30), and Stripe's fees include GST. Menuthere adds no commission. On Lite (US$17 a month) the money goes to your own Stripe balance.
Over a month of 300 such delivery orders, 30% plus GST comes to A$3,960 on either app, against about A$288 in Stripe fees if the same orders came direct (prices as of October 2026, before your own delivery costs).
If you're registered for GST, you can generally claim the GST on these fees back as a credit on your BAS, so the A$1.20 isn't a final cost. The 30% is. More on GST in GST on restaurant and takeaway food.
Getting paid
| Uber Eats | DoorDash | |
|---|---|---|
| Default | Weekly, under the merchant terms | Weekly: Monday to Sunday, deposited Thursday, usually in your account by Friday |
| Faster option | Not stated in the merchant terms | Daily payouts (weekdays) for sales 3 days in arrears, opt in under Settings |
| Deductions before payout | Uber Eats Fee, refunds, activation fee instalments | Commission, fees, marketing spend, error charges |
A direct card order on Menuthere goes to your own Stripe balance, and Stripe pays out to your bank on Stripe's schedule.
Card surcharges ended on 1 October 2026
The Reserve Bank decided to end surcharges on eftpos, Mastercard and Visa cards from 1 October 2026, and the ACCC's guidance also lists American Express. That affects your own ordering page more than the apps: you can no longer add 1.5% for card payments at checkout, so card costs go into your menu prices. Weekend and public holiday surcharges are a separate matter and still allowed with the right menu wording. Work out new prices with the card-surcharge menu price calculator. Menuthere's checkout never adds a card surcharge.
Which app should you choose?
- Mostly delivery, no drivers of your own: both cost 30%. DoorDash has no activation fee and a 30-day trial. Uber Eats has the former Menulog customers, who were sent to its app.
- Lots of pickup: Uber Eats at 8% is about half DoorDash's 15%.
- You have your own drivers: DoorDash self-delivery is 15% (12% on DashPass), Uber Eats 16%. Compare how often you'd need a Dasher at A$9.99.
- Both: many restaurants list on both apps and put a QR card in every bag that points regulars to their own ordering page.
The apps' "own website" products aren't free either: Uber's Webshop takes 25% when Uber delivers. See are Uber Webshop and DoorDash online ordering really commission-free?, plus alternatives to Webshop, DoorDash and DoorDash Online Ordering.
Your own ordering page with Menuthere
- Free, US$0: ordering website, QR menu, takeaway, delivery (you deliver) and table orders, orders sent to your WhatsApp, up to 50 orders a month, 0% commission, no card needed.
- Lite, US$17 a month: online card payments through your own Stripe account (cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay), pre-orders, coupons, own domain. See connect Stripe.
- Pro, US$39 a month: WhatsApp Business API ordering, loyalty points, your own riders, several outlets.
- Branded App, US$99 a month: your restaurant's own Android and iOS app. See the Branded App.
Lite and Pro have a 7-day free trial (a card is needed to start; nothing is charged until it ends). Menuthere takes 0% commission on every plan. See pricing, the online ordering system for Australia, commission-free online ordering and the best online ordering systems in Australia.
Rates change. Check each app's current pricing page and your own agreement before you sign.
FAQs
Is Uber Eats or DoorDash cheaper for restaurants in Australia?
For courier delivery they cost the same, 30% plus GST. Uber Eats is cheaper for pickup at 8% against 15%. DoorDash is slightly cheaper if you deliver yourself and has no activation fee, while Uber Eats charges A$700 plus GST for your first location.
Has Menulog closed in Australia?
Yes. Menulog ceased operations in Australia on 26 November 2025. Under a commercial agreement, its customers were redirected to the Uber Eats app, and Uber offered former Menulog restaurants a 0% Uber Eats Fee on delivery orders for 180 days.
Do Uber Eats and DoorDash charge GST on commission?
Yes. Both add 10% GST on top of their fee, so 30% on a A$40 order costs A$13.20 in total. A GST-registered restaurant can generally claim that GST back as a credit.
How often do Uber Eats and DoorDash pay restaurants?
Uber Eats pays weekly under its Australian merchant terms. DoorDash pays weekly, depositing on Thursday for the previous Monday to Sunday, or daily on weekdays if you opt in.
Do I need to be registered for GST to join Uber Eats?
Yes. Uber Eats' Australian merchant terms require you to be registered for GST, and stay registered, for as long as the agreement runs.
What does a direct order cost on Menuthere?
Menuthere takes 0% commission. On Lite, card payments go through your own Stripe account at 1.65% + A$0.30 per domestic card, about A$0.96 on a A$40 order.
Sources (10)
- Uber Newsroom (Australia), Menulog redirects Australian customers to Uber Eats (24 November 2025) — uber.com/au/en/newsroom/menulog-redirect-users-and-merchants/ (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
- Uber Eats, Pricing (Australia): 30% / 16% / 8%; Webshop 25% / 6%; activation and damage fees — merchants.ubereats.com/au/en/pricing/ (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
- Uber, Uber Eats Merchant Terms and Conditions, Australia (last modified 30 June 2025): fee on retail price incl. GST; fees exclude GST; weekly remittance; GST registration — uber.com/au/en/legal/uber-eats-merchant-terms-and-conditions/ (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
- DoorDash, Merchant fees and pricing (Australia): 30% / 15%; self-delivery 15% / 12% DashPass + A$9.99; Online Ordering; free trial; tablet A$0 — merchants.doordash.com/en-au/pricing (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
- DoorDash, How to add financial information on the Merchant Portal (weekly and daily payouts) — merchants.doordash.com/en-au/learning-center/financials (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
- DoorDash, How to understand your DoorDash payout and monthly statement (commission tax line) — merchants.doordash.com/en-au/learning-center/payout-and-monthly-statement (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
- Reserve Bank of Australia, media release 26-10 (31 March 2026): surcharging on eftpos, Mastercard and Visa to end — rba.gov.au/media-releases/2026/mr-26-10.html (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
- ACCC, Price displays (card surcharging from 1 October 2026; weekend and public holiday surcharges) — accc.gov.au/business/pricing/price-displays (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
- Australian Taxation Office, Taxable sales (claiming credits for GST in business purchases) — ato.gov.au/businesses-and-organisations/gst-excise-and-indirect-taxes/gst/when-to-charge-gst-and-when-not-to/taxable-sales (accessed 20 Oct 2026)
- Stripe, Pricing, Australia (1.65% + A$0.30 domestic cards; fees include GST) — stripe.com/au/pricing (accessed 20 Oct 2026)