Craver alternative: your own restaurant app, no Square needed
Updated October 19, 2026
Craver builds custom-branded mobile ordering apps, mainly for coffee shops and quick-service restaurants that use Square. Its pricing page lists a Core plan at $99 a month per location, no setup fee, and an optional Subscription Bundle from $49 a month for memberships such as a coffee club. Menuthere's Branded App plan is also $99 a month ($990 a year billed yearly). The difference is what's behind it. Menuthere runs its own ordering system, so you don't need Square. You also get WhatsApp ordering, your own delivery riders and 0% commission, and Apple's and Google's developer fees are included.
with nothing to pay at signup, or.
In short
- Craver (its pricing page, checked 19 October 2026): Core $99 a month per location, "We never charge a setup fee", monthly plans cancel any time, the annual plan is paid upfront and isn't refundable. Built around Square POS, Square Loyalty and Square gift cards.
- Menuthere Branded App: $99 a month or $990 a year billed yearly, 0% commission. Your own Android and iOS app, built and published by Menuthere, running on Menuthere's own ordering system. No POS needed.
- Store fees included: Apple's and Google's developer fees are part of the $99. Craver's pricing page doesn't mention developer fees.
- What Craver has that we don't: paid memberships and subscriptions (its Subscription Bundle) and Square integration.
- What Menuthere adds: WhatsApp ordering on your own number, your own riders with live tracking, loyalty points, and an ordering website on the same menu.
Craver vs Menuthere, side by side
Craver details are from its own pricing page and homepage, checked on 19 October 2026. Check theirs before you decide.
| Craver | Menuthere Branded App | |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly price | Core: $99 a month per location | $99 a month ($990 a year billed yearly, 2 months free) |
| Annual billing | Toggle shows "2 months free"; annual price not stated; paid upfront and "isn't refundable" | $990 a year (10 months charged for 12) |
| Setup fee | "We never charge a setup fee" | None listed |
| Who it's built for | "Built for Coffee Shops & QSRs on Square" | Restaurants, takeaways, cafés, bakeries and food trucks |
| POS | Square POS integration; gift cards "Available on Square only" | Runs on Menuthere's own menu, orders and dashboard. No POS needed |
| Your own app | "Custom-branded app" (the page doesn't say iOS, Android or both) | Android and iOS, under your name and icon, on Google Play and the App Store |
| Apple and Google developer fees | Not mentioned | Included |
| Push notifications | Unlimited push, scheduling and performance insights | Unlimited push: order status updates plus offers, sent now, scheduled or repeating daily or weekly |
| Loyalty | Square Loyalty integration | Loyalty points (Pro), shown in your app |
| Memberships / subscriptions | Subscription Bundle add-on: from $49 a month by subscriber count, plus a "5% guest fee, capped at $2 per order" | Not offered |
| WhatsApp ordering | Not mentioned | WhatsApp Business API on your own number (Pro) |
| Delivery | White-label delivery integration | Your own riders with live tracking (Pro) |
| Commission | No per-order fee listed on Core | 0% commission |
| Free trial | Not stated; "Billing starts on day one" | No trial on Branded App (7-day trial on Lite and Pro). Nothing to pay at signup; your month counts from the day the app goes live |
A fair note: both companies list the same headline price. Craver's is per location, and its page says an app is typically ready "in just a few days". Menuthere doesn't promise a timeframe; Apple's and Google's reviews decide that. With either, card payments go through a payment processor that charges its own fee.
Which one fits your business?
Craver is likely the better fit if:
- you already run Square POS and want your app synced to Square menus, loyalty and gift cards;
- you want to sell paid memberships, such as a monthly coffee club, through your app;
- you're a coffee shop or quick-service brand, the businesses Craver says it's built for.
Menuthere's Branded App is likely the better fit if:
- you don't use Square, or don't want your app tied to a POS. Menuthere runs its own menu, orders and dashboard;
- you take orders on WhatsApp and want that on the same system, with WhatsApp Business API on your own number;
- you deliver with your own riders and want live tracking in your app;
- you want store fees covered: Apple's and Google's developer fees are included;
- you want an ordering website too, on the same menu, with 0% commission. Our free ordering website runs on the same dashboard.
First-year cost, one location, published prices only
| Over 12 months, one location | Craver Core | Menuthere Branded App |
|---|---|---|
| Plan, billed monthly | $1,188 ($99 × 12) | $1,188 ($99 × 12) |
| Plan, billed yearly | "2 months free" (annual price not shown) | $990 |
| Setup fee | None | None listed |
| Apple and Google developer fees | Not mentioned on the pricing page | Included |
| Membership add-on | From $49 a month, plus a 5% guest fee capped at $2 per order, if you use it | Not offered |
| On top | Card processing (via your processor) | Your payment gateway's processing fee |
For more than one location, ask both companies for a quote. Craver lists $99 per location. Ask us about several outlets on Menuthere.
What you get with Menuthere's Branded App
- Your own app on Android and iOS, under your restaurant's name and icon, on Google Play and the App Store.
- Ordering in the app: customers browse your menu, order and pay, and reorder a past order in a tap.
- Loyalty points and live tracking: customers see their points in the app and track their delivery live when you use your own riders.
- Push notifications: order status goes straight to customers' phones, and you can send unlimited push notifications to all app users or followers only.
- Everything in Pro: WhatsApp Business API on your own number, loyalty points, your own riders, advanced analytics and several outlets.
- Partner app for staff on Android and iPhone. It rings until each order is accepted.
- A dedicated support contact for your store and an onboarding call.
See how the Branded App works. Running a café? See coffee shop app.
How to get your app
- Press Get your app (also on the Branded App plan on our pricing page), or book a demo first. Nothing is paid at signup.
- Add at least 10 dishes with photos, press Register App and book a call with Menuthere's founder.
- Pay the first month ($99) in advance and send your app's name, icon and brand color.
- We build and publish your app on Google Play and the App Store. Your subscription counts from the day it goes live.
Your own app for $99 a month. No POS needed, 0% commission.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Craver cost?
Craver's pricing page (checked 19 October 2026) lists the Core plan at $99 a month per location, with no setup fee. Its optional Subscription Bundle starts at $49 a month, depending on your number of subscribers, plus a 5% guest fee capped at $2 per order. The annual plan gives "2 months free", but the annual price isn't shown.
Do I need Square to use Craver?
Craver says it's "Built for Coffee Shops & QSRs on Square" and lists Square POS integration; gift cards are available on Square only. Its pricing page doesn't say whether other POS systems work, so ask Craver.
Do I need a POS to use Menuthere?
No. Menuthere runs its own menu, orders and dashboard, and your staff take orders on the Menuthere partner app.
Is Menuthere the same price as Craver?
Both list $99 a month. Craver's Core plan is priced per location. Menuthere's Branded App is $99 a month or $990 a year billed yearly, with Apple's and Google's developer fees included and 0% commission.
Can I sell coffee subscriptions with Menuthere?
No. Menuthere doesn't offer paid memberships or subscriptions. If that's central to your business, Craver's Subscription Bundle is built for it.
Does Menuthere charge commission?
No. Menuthere takes 0% commission. Your card payment gateway charges its own processing fee.
Do I pay anything at signup?
No. You pay the first month in advance after a call with Menuthere's founder, before we build your app. Your subscription counts from the day your app goes live.
Is there a free trial?
Not on Branded App. You can try Lite ($17 a month) or Pro ($39 a month) free for 7 days first; a card is needed to start, and nothing is charged until the trial ends.
Sources (4)
- Craver pricing: https://www.getcraver.com/pricing/ (accessed 19 Oct 2026): Core "$99/month per location"; "2 months free" annual toggle; "We never charge a setup fee"; Subscription Bundle "Starting from $49" (0–49 subscribers +$49 … 1000+ +$699) with "5% guest fee, capped at $2 per order"; "you can cancel your monthly plan at any time"; annual "paid upfront and isn't refundable"; "Billing starts on day one"; app typically ready "in just a few days"; features include "Custom-branded app", "Square POS integration", "Unlimited push notifications", "Square Loyalty integration"; gift cards "Available on Square only"; prices in USD, CAD, GBP or AUD.
- Craver homepage: https://www.getcraver.com/ (accessed 19 Oct 2026; craverapp.com 301-redirects here): "custom-branded mobile apps for coffee shops on Square"; "Built for Coffee Shops & QSRs on Square".
- Owner.com and ChowNow: as on /en/alternatives/owner and /chownow (their pricing pages, accessed 15 Oct 2026).
- Ahrefs Keywords Explorer, US (15 Oct 2026): see ../branded-app-keywords.csv.