Food delivery apps in the UK: a 2026 guide for restaurants and takeaways
Updated 19 October 2026
Short answer: The main food delivery apps in the UK for restaurants are Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats. Foodhub is the main fourth option, with a monthly-fee model instead of commission. When the app's couriers deliver, expect to pay about 30–35% + VAT per order. Deliver yourself and Just Eat and Uber Eats drop to 14% and 13% + VAT. Courier services like Uber Direct and your own commission-free ordering page let you take delivery orders without a marketplace cut.
This list is written for owners, not diners. For each app it covers commission, sign-up fees, payouts, contract terms and entry rules, then helps you pick.
Checked 11 October 2026 against each platform's UK partner pages and terms. Rates change. Your own agreement is the final word.
UK food delivery apps at a glance
| App | App delivers | You deliver | Pickup | Sign-up fee | Payout | Contract | Hygiene rating needed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Just Eat | 30% + VAT | 14% + VAT | Not published | Conflicting: "free" in the FAQ, £295 + VAT on the next-steps screen | Weekly (Friday) | Notice set in your agreement (not published) | 3+ (Pass in Scotland) |
| Deliveroo | Per agreement. 35% + VAT published for Marketplace+ with riders | Per agreement | Per agreement | One-off, by device option (amount not published) | Weekly (Thursday) | 30 days' written notice | 2+ |
| Uber Eats | 30% + VAT (33% Uber One) | 13% + VAT | 13% + VAT | £650 + VAT | "Bi-weekly" per UK terms; check Uber Eats Manager | 1 year, auto-renews | Not stated publicly; ask Uber |
| Foodhub | Delivery rate not published | No commission on your own orders | – | Set-up fee + rental (quote) | Card takings weekly (Tuesday), via its payment partner | 8-week initial period, then 12-month rolling | Not stated in its terms |
All four add VAT to their fees. If you're VAT-registered, you can usually reclaim it.
What each app takes from every £100 of orders
Headline rates are easier to compare per £100 of sales. VAT on fees is included here, because many small takeaways aren't VAT-registered.
| Channel | Taken per £100 (incl. VAT on fees) | You keep |
|---|---|---|
| Deliveroo, Marketplace+ with riders (35%) | £42.00 | £58.00 |
| Uber Eats, Uber One order (33%) | £39.60 | £60.40 |
| Just Eat or Uber Eats, app delivers (30%) | £36.00 | £64.00 |
| Just Eat, own drivers (14%) | £16.80 | £83.20 |
| Uber Eats, self-delivery or pickup (13%) | £15.60 | £84.40 |
| Your own ordering page (Stripe, 4 orders of £25) | £2.30 | £97.70 |
Own delivery isn't free. On the 13–14% tiers and your own page, take off your drivers' costs. For collection orders, there's nothing to take off.
1. Just Eat
Best for: takeaways with their own drivers, such as chippies, pizza, kebab and curry houses.
- Commission: 14% + VAT if you deliver, 30% + VAT if Just Eat delivers.
- Joining: Just Eat's own UK sign-up page says both "no fee to join" and £295 + VAT. Budget for the fee and get the answer in writing.
- Kit: an Orderpad tablet and printer.
- Payout: invoice every Tuesday, money every Friday.
- Rules: commercial premises only (no home kitchens), council registration and a hygiene rating of 3 or more.
Full details: Just Eat commission and how to join Just Eat.
2. Deliveroo
Best for: city-centre restaurants that want a large courier network and a higher-spend audience.
- Commission: set in each restaurant's agreement, as a % of the VAT-inclusive order value, plus VAT. The only published rate is 35% + VAT for Marketplace+ with Deliveroo riders.
- Joining: a one-off fee that depends on whether you use your own device or lease Deliveroo's tablet.
- Payout: weekly, every Thursday.
- Contract: either side can end it with 30 days' written notice.
- Rules: an FSA hygiene rating of 2 or more. Live in as little as 7 days.
- Watch: the terms say prices on Deliveroo should match your in-store menu.
Full details: Deliveroo fees and how to join Deliveroo.
3. Uber Eats
Best for: restaurants in big cities, quick-service food and late-night trade.
- Commission: 30% + VAT when Uber delivers, 33% on Uber One orders, 13% + VAT for self-delivery or pickup.
- Set-up: a £650 + VAT activation fee covering a tablet, printer, menu set-up and photos.
- Contract: one year, renewing automatically.
- Device: a £200 fee if a device is lost, damaged or not returned.
- Payout: Uber's UK merchant terms say revenue is transferred "on a bi-weekly basis". Check Uber Eats Manager for your own dates.
Full details: Uber Eats commission rate UK and our Uber Eats Manager guide.
4. Foodhub
Best for: takeaways that want EPOS, a website and a marketplace listing from one supplier.
- Model: Foodhub says it takes no commission on your own orders. You pay a set-up fee, rental and card fees instead.
- Contract: an 8-week initial period, then rolling 12-month periods. To leave, give at least 30 days' written notice ending on the last day of a period.
- Payout: card takings are paid weekly, every Tuesday, by Foodhub's payment partner.
- Watch: get every fee in writing, including card rates and the equipment fee.
Full details: Foodhub fees UK.
Delivery without a marketplace: courier services
If you take orders yourself but don't have drivers, a courier service fills the gap.
- Uber Direct: Uber's couriers deliver orders from your own website, app or phone. Uber says it charges per delivery, with no commission or monthly minimum, and covers 90%+ of the UK population.
- Deliveroo Express: on-demand Deliveroo riders for your own website or app. It's still listed on Deliveroo's UK partner site; ask Deliveroo whether it covers your area.
Other UK courier firms and smaller local apps exist in some towns. Check their contract, payout timing and fees the same way.
Which delivery app is best for your restaurant?
There's no single best food delivery app for restaurants. Start from how you trade.
| You are… | Try first | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A takeaway with your own drivers | Just Eat (14%) or Uber Eats self-delivery (13%) | The lowest published rates |
| A city restaurant with no drivers | Deliveroo or Uber Eats | Dense courier networks. Compare Deliveroo's written quote with Uber's 30% |
| A café or lunch spot | Uber Eats pickup (13%) + your own collection link | Collection keeps costs low |
| A dark kitchen | Two apps + your own ordering page | You need reach, then repeat orders you keep. See our dark kitchen guide |
| A home cook or home baker | Your own ordering page | Just Eat doesn't accept residential premises. Check the others' rules |
| Unsure about long contracts | Deliveroo (30 days' notice) before Uber Eats (1-year term) | Easier to exit |
Do a 5-minute postcode test. Open each app as a customer, enter your postcode and count the places like yours. Lots of rivals means proven demand, and a fight for visibility that usually costs extra in ads and offers.
For a head-to-head on the big three, read Just Eat vs Deliveroo vs Uber Eats for restaurants.
Running more than one app
Two apps can make sense. Three gets hard to run.
- One tablet each. Every app sends its own tablet and printer. Counters get crowded and orders get missed.
- Menus drift. A price or allergen change has to be made on every app. Keep one master menu and an allergen matrix.
- Payouts differ. Friday, Thursday and Uber's schedule. Reconcile each weekly.
- Integration tools can merge app orders into one screen, for a monthly or per-order fee.
The other half: your own ordering channel
Apps are good at finding customers. They're expensive for keeping them, because you pay the same commission on a regular's twentieth order as on their first.
The usual UK setup in 2026 is:
- One or two apps for new customers, at the lowest tier you can run.
- Your own ordering page for regulars, at 0% commission.
- WhatsApp for quick reorders.
Menuthere is a commission-free online ordering system for this second half. Customers order collection, delivery or dine-in from one menu with no app download. The Free plan covers 50 orders a month. Lite (US$17 a month, billed in US dollars) adds unlimited orders, Stripe card payments and advanced delivery zones with a fee per zone. Basic delivery zones are on Free. WhatsApp ordering on your own number is a Pro feature (US$39 a month); Meta bills your own WhatsApp account per message, with no Menuthere markup. Busy takeaways with lots of regulars can later add their own branded app on Android and iOS: see our Branded App page.
Menuthere isn't a delivery app, so it won't bring you new customers like a marketplace does. Already on an app and want out? See alternatives to Deliveroo and alternatives to Uber Eats.
Use the apps for discovery and keep your regulars commission-free. Secondary:.
FAQs
What are the main food delivery apps in the UK?
Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats are the three big marketplaces. Foodhub is the main fourth, with a rental model instead of commission on your own orders.
Which food delivery app is best for restaurants?
It depends on your area and whether you deliver yourself. With your own drivers, Just Eat (14%) and Uber Eats self-delivery (13%) are cheapest on published rates. In city centres without drivers, compare Deliveroo's quote with Uber's 30%.
Which UK delivery app takes the lowest commission?
On published rates, Uber Eats self-delivery or pickup at 13% + VAT, then Just Eat own delivery at 14% + VAT. Foodhub says it takes no commission on your own orders but charges rental and card fees.
Do delivery apps charge VAT on commission?
Yes. All the main apps add 20% VAT to their fees. VAT-registered restaurants can usually reclaim it.
Can I sell food from home on delivery apps?
Not on Just Eat, which doesn't accept residential premises. Deliveroo and Uber Eats set their own rules, so ask first. Your own ordering page works for registered home food businesses.
Can I deliver my own orders without a delivery app?
Yes. Take orders on your own ordering page and use your own drivers, collection, or a courier such as Uber Direct, which charges per delivery.
How many delivery apps should a takeaway use?
Usually one or two, plus your own ordering page. Each extra app adds a tablet, a menu to update and a payout to check.
Sources (9)
- Just Eat UK partner sign-up page (14% / 30% + VAT; joining fee wording; Orderpad; Tuesday invoice, Friday payout; hygiene rating 3+; residential premises), Wayback capture of 13 July 2026. Accessed 11 October 2026. https://www.just-eat.co.uk/partner/signup/
- Deliveroo, Partner terms (fee as % of GMV incl. VAT plus VAT; Marketplace+ 35% + VAT; joining fee by device; price parity; 30 days' notice). Accessed 11 October 2026. https://merchants.deliveroo.com/legal/terms
- Deliveroo, Become a partner, Partner FAQs and UK merchants home page (Deliveroo Express listed) (FSA rating of at least 2; as little as 7 days; Thursday payouts; Deliveroo Express). Accessed 11 October 2026. https://merchants.deliveroo.com/become-a-partner · https://merchants.deliveroo.com/faqs
- Uber Eats UK, Pricing (30% / 33% / 13% / 13% excl. VAT; £650 initial fee). Accessed 11 October 2026. https://merchants.ubereats.com/gb/en/pricing/
- Uber, Uber Eats merchant terms (one-year auto-renewing term; £200 device fee; bi-weekly transfers). Accessed 11 October 2026. https://www.uber.com/gb/en/legal/uber-eats-merchant-terms-and-conditions/ 5a. Foodhub for Business, Terms and Conditions (8-week initial period then rolling 12 months, cl. 5.1; 30 days' notice, cl. 14; weekly Tuesday payouts via Datman, cl. 7.5). Accessed 11 October 2026. https://www.foodhubforbusiness.com/terms/
- Uber Eats UK, Merchant FAQ (weekly payments). Accessed 11 October 2026. https://merchants.ubereats.com/gb/en/faq/
- Uber Eats UK, Uber Direct. Accessed 11 October 2026. https://merchants.ubereats.com/gb/en/services/uber-direct/
- Foodhub for Business, Online Ordering and Retailer General Terms, via Menuthere's Foodhub fees page. Accessed 11 October 2026. https://www.foodhubforbusiness.com/online-ordering/
- Stripe UK pricing (1.5% + 20p). Accessed 11 October 2026. https://stripe.com/gb/pricing