The 10 best online ordering systems for restaurants in Canada.
Restaurants in Canada take orders on their own websites, apps and tables through local and regional systems such as Lightspeed Restaurant, Square Online and Toast. Of the 9 systems compared here besides Menuthere, 8 say they take no commission on orders and 2 have a free plan; the rest charge a monthly fee or quote per restaurant.
Menuthere publishes this list and makes one of the systems on it (number 3). Every figure comes from the companies' own pages, dated and listed on each system's page. How we ranked them is at the foot of the page.
At a glance
10 systems, and who each one is best for.
1Lightspeed RestaurantFull-service and multi-location restaurants that want POS, online ordering and QR order-and-pay in one sales-led packageFrom $69/mo
2Square OnlineRestaurants and cafés already on Square POS in the US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Australia, Japan, France or Spain that want a free, commission-free ordering pageFree plan · from $49/mo
3MenuthereRestaurants in Canada that want their own ordering page with 0% commission and a free planFree plan · from $9/mo
4ToastRestaurants in the US, Canada, the UK, Ireland or Australia that want POS, online ordering and table QR ordering from one vendor and can sign a multi-year contractFrom $69/mo
5CloverUS and Canadian restaurants that run, or want, a Clover POS and want online and QR table ordering with no extra fee on topFrom $89.95/mo
6TouchBistroFull-service and multi-location restaurants in the US and Canada (outside Québec) that run TouchBistro's POS and want commission-free takeout and delivery orders on their own websiteFrom $69/mo
7UEATCanadian restaurants and chains that want a branded ordering website and app tied into their POS and Moneris payments, and are happy to buy through a sales quoteQuote only
8Eats365Asia-Pacific restaurants and multi-brand groups that want an iPad POS, their own ordering website, QR ordering and delivery-app orders in one systemFree plan · from $25/mo
9Maitre'DRestaurants, bars and hotels that already run a Maitre'D POS and want website orders to go straight into the POS and kitchen for a flat monthly feeFrom £39/mo
10ChowNowIndependent US and Canadian restaurants that want a done-for-you ordering website, branded app and marketing for a flat monthly feeFrom $229/mo
Side by side
Price, commission and features, all 10 compared.
“—” means the company doesn't publish it. Menuthere's plan for each feature is shown next to it.
Online ordering systems for restaurants in Canada, compared
Not published. The pricing page lists subscription fees only and shows no per-order commission.
0%
0%
Contract
Not stated on the US or Australian pricing pages; the Norwegian price list says its price applies to a 12-month contract period
No locked-in contract; cancel or switch plans anytime (US pricing page and General Terms). Outside the US, paid Square Online plans are priced per month billed annually, with a different price if paid monthly, and plans can be switched at any time.
Month to month; 7-day free trial on Lite and Pro
Toast's 10-K says contracts for its software generally run 12 to 36 months. NerdWallet reports contracts of two to three years.
US hardware subscriptions run 36 months and are non-cancelable and non-refundable (they can be paid off, bought out or upgraded) and continue month to month unless Clover is told 30 days before the end; the US hardware promotion requires a 3-year contract. Contract terms and termination fees vary by provider (Clover Direct or bank partners).
Fixed initial term set in the sales quote. It auto-renews for the same length unless either side gives written notice at least 30 days before the end, and the merchant may not terminate before the end of the current term (terms of service, effective 31 March 2026). NerdWallet notes there is no month-to-month option.
—
Annual or monthly plans (annual billing is cheaper)
Not published for online ordering. The Maitre'D Service Contract (support and repair cover) is an annual contract paid monthly, and its Standard plan is included with the Maitre'D SaaS subscription.
Annual term ($229 a month on Launch) or billed monthly ($249). ChowNow's refund policy says service can be cancelled at any time and is billed to the end of the current monthly cycle, with no refunds on service or product fees.
Own ordering website
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
QR table ordering
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
Not published
Yes
Pickup
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Delivery orders
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Your own drivers
Yes
Yes
Yes · Pro
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
Not published
Yes
Yes
Scheduled orders
Yes
Yes
Yes · Lite
Yes
Yes
Yes
Not published
Yes
Yes
Yes
Online payments
Yes
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
POS
Yes
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
No
Loyalty
Yes
Yes
Yes · Pro
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Marketing tools
Yes
Yes
Yes · Lite
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
WhatsApp ordering or updates
Not published
Not published
Yes
Not published
Not published
Not published
Not published
Not published
Not published
Not published
Branded app
Not published
Not published
Yes · Enterprise
Yes
Not published
No
Yes
Not published
Yes
Yes
Delivery-app integration
Yes
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Multiple locations
Yes
Yes
Yes · Pro
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Menu translation
Not published
Not published
Yes · Lite
Not published
Not published
No
Not published
Yes
Not published
Not published
Reservations
Yes
Yes
Yes · Lite
Yes
Not published
Yes
Not published
Yes
Yes
Not published
Where Menuthere fits in Canada
Your own ordering page, without paying commission.
0% commission on every plan: your customers' orders are yours in full.
Free to start, with 50 orders a month. Lite is $9 a month for unlimited orders and your own domain.
Your own ordering website, QR menus and table ordering, with a partner app that rings until you accept each order.
Pro adds WhatsApp order updates on your own number, loyalty points and your own delivery riders.
Online card payments aren't available in Canada yet: customers pay cash, on delivery or at pickup, and card payments are planned.
Full-service and multi-location restaurants that want POS, online ordering and QR order-and-pay in one sales-led package
Lightspeed Restaurant is a cloud POS for restaurants, bars and hotels, with its own online ordering and QR order-and-pay module called Order Anywhere. It suits full-service and multi-location venues that want in-house, takeaway, delivery and table orders in one system. It charges a monthly subscription per plan (from 69 USD a month in the US), with online ordering included from the Essential plan or sold as an add-on, and card processing through Lightspeed Payments.
Price
From $69/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
Online payments go through Lightspeed Payments (card, Apple Pay; Twint in Switzerland; Bancontact, Payconiq and iDEAL in Belgium and the Netherlands) or Stripe; customers can also pay in person at pickup or after a table meal.
Includes: Own ordering website · QR table ordering · Pickup · Delivery orders · Your own drivers · Scheduled orders · Online payments · POS · Loyalty · Marketing tools · Delivery-app integration · Multiple locations · Reservations
Online, QR table and in-house orders land in the same POS; Order Anywhere has pickup-and-delivery and table profiles, and customers can order ahead for a later date or time (Lightspeed help centre).
Delivery can use the restaurant's own staff with its own zones, fees and minimums, or Uber Direct couriers with 0% commission and only a per-delivery fee (Uber Direct in the UK, Germany, Canada and the US only).
Orders from Uber Eats, DoorDash and SkipTheDishes can be sent to the POS through Deliverect (an add-on), and Order with Google sends Google Search and Maps users to the Order Anywhere site.
Online ordering and order-and-pay at table are not in the 69 USD Starter plan; they need the 189 USD Essential plan or a paid add-on (A$59 a month in Australia).
Card processing rates are not published on the US pricing page ('Default' on Starter, 'Custom' on Essential and Premium).
Not self-serve: plans start from a quote request, and Order Anywhere is bought through an account manager or [email protected].
Restaurants and cafés already on Square POS in the US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Australia, Japan, France or Spain that want a free, commission-free ordering page
Square Online is Square's ordering website and online store builder: a restaurant gets an ordering page (in the US called an online ordering profile) whose orders go straight into Square POS, the kitchen printer or Square KDS. It is for restaurants, cafés, bakeries and food trucks that use Square payments in the 8 countries Square serves. The Free plan has no monthly fee and no commission, only Square's card processing fee per order; paid plans (in the US, Square Plus from $49 a month per location) add QR table ordering, loyalty and email marketing, and in the US a lower online card rate.
Price
Free plan · from $49/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
Square processes every online payment itself: credit and debit cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Cash App Pay in the US; Square Pay, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Afterpay in Australia and Canada; Square Pay, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Clearpay in the UK. The restaurant needs a Square account.
Includes: Own ordering website · QR table ordering · Pickup · Delivery orders · Your own drivers · Scheduled orders · Online payments · POS · Loyalty · Marketing tools · Delivery-app integration · Multiple locations · Reservations
Free plan with no monthly fee and no commission on direct orders; the restaurant pays only Square's card processing fee (Square online ordering page and plan pages).
Online orders arrive in Square POS and go to the kitchen printer or Square KDS, and menus, items and stock stay in sync between online and in-store sales (Square online ordering pages).
Pickup (including curbside), delivery by the restaurant's own staff with postal-code or radius zones and distance-based fees, or on-demand couriers (DoorDash or another courier Square picks in the US, DoorDash in Canada, Stuart in the UK); customers can schedule orders days ahead (Square help centre, Canada and UK pages).
Online payments go through Square at Square's rates; in the US the Free plan charges 3.3% + 30¢ per online card payment, against 2.9% + 30¢ on paid plans (Square pricing page).
QR table ordering, loyalty, email marketing and a custom domain need a paid plan: Square Plus at $49 a month per location in the US; in Australia QR ordering and pre-orders need Plus at A$36 a month, billed annually (Square pricing and plan pages).
Only available in the 8 countries Square serves (Square About page).
Restaurants in Canada that want their own ordering page with 0% commission and a free plan
Menuthere gives your restaurant its own ordering website, QR menus and table ordering with 0% commission on every plan, including a free plan with 50 orders a month. Lite at $9 a month adds unlimited orders and your own domain; Pro at $39 adds WhatsApp order updates on your own number, loyalty points and your own delivery riders.
Online card payments aren't available in Canada yet: customers pay cash, on delivery or at pickup.
Price
Free plan · from $9/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
Not yet: customers pay cash, on delivery or at pickup (card payments are planned)
Includes: Own ordering website · QR table ordering · Pickup · Delivery orders · Your own drivers · Scheduled orders · Loyalty · Marketing tools · WhatsApp ordering or updates · Branded app · Multiple locations · Menu translation · Reservations
0% commission on every plan, and a free plan with 50 orders a month.
Lite at $9 a month adds your own domain, unlimited orders, translated menus and scheduled orders.
The partner app for Android and iPhone rings until an order is accepted.
Online card payments work only in India today; elsewhere customers pay cash, on delivery or at pickup.
No POS of its own on the self-serve plans (Petpooja integration on Pro).
No integration with delivery apps such as Uber Eats or Deliveroo.
Restaurants in the US, Canada, the UK, Ireland or Australia that want POS, online ordering and table QR ordering from one vendor and can sign a multi-year contract
Toast is a restaurant POS from Boston-based Toast, Inc. with commission-free online ordering built in: a Toast-hosted ordering page for pickup, curbside and delivery, QR order-and-pay at the table, and optional Toast websites and branded apps. It sells to restaurants in the US, Canada, the UK, Ireland and Australia. Toast charges a monthly software fee (in the US, $0 on the pay-as-you-go Starter Kit or from $69 a month; in the UK from £80), sells online ordering as a paid Digital Storefront add-on, and runs card payments through its own integrated payments.
Price
From $69/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
Guests pay online by card (Visa, Mastercard, American Express or Discover), Apple Pay (only in Safari) or a Toast gift card, through Toast's integrated payments at the card-not-present rate. Restaurants can also allow cash for online orders. Guests cannot split an online order across two cards, and express checkout with a Toast account is only available to guests in the US.
Toast calls its online ordering commission-free: orders flow into the Toast POS the same way in-house orders do, and the restaurant keeps 100% of the revenue with no per-order commission (Toast help centre). Card processing still applies.
Delivery can use the restaurant's own drivers, with its own fees and minimums, or, in the US, Toast Delivery Services (Uber Direct or DoorDash Drive drivers) at a flat fee from $6.99 per delivery. Toast Delivery Services has no commitment, can be switched off at any time, and the restaurant chooses how much of the fee to pass on to guests.
One platform covers QR order-and-pay at the table (Toast Mobile Order & Pay), scheduled future orders, Toast Tables reservations and waitlist, loyalty, email and SMS marketing, Toast websites, a branded iOS or Android app, and Uber Eats, DoorDash and Grubhub integrations. Most of these are paid add-ons or higher suites (Toast pricing page, Toast Suites Overview).
Online ordering is not included in any plan, not even the $0 Starter Kit. It is sold as a Digital Storefront add-on; a website needs the Pro tier and a branded app needs Premium (Toast pricing page, Toast Suites Overview). Toast does not publish the add-on price, and NerdWallet says it is quote-based.
Contracts for Toast's software generally run 12 to 36 months (Toast 10-K), and NerdWallet reports contracts of two to three years.
Setup costs extra: in the US, $1,000 per on-site installation day, $800 per remote day and $125 for an Online Ordering setup consult (Toast onboarding rates).
US and Canadian restaurants that run, or want, a Clover POS and want online and QR table ordering with no extra fee on top
Clover is Fiserv's point-of-sale system, and Clover Online Ordering is built into it: the restaurant gets an ordering website (or links its existing site), Scan to Order QR codes for tables, and online orders that print and fire straight to the Clover POS. It is for restaurants that buy a Clover POS, sold on Clover's own sites in the US, Canada, the UK and Australia. Clover charges no extra fee or commission for online ordering; the restaurant pays for Clover hardware, a monthly software plan (US restaurant bundles from $135 a month for 36 months, or $849 upfront plus $89.95 a month) and card-not-present processing on each online payment.
Price
From $89.95/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
Customers pay on the ordering website and the order reaches the Clover device as a paid order. Payments are processed through Clover (Fiserv) or the bank or reseller that sold the system, which receives the card-not-present fee; Clover devices cannot be used with other payment processors.
No extra subscription, setup or commission fee for online ordering: an online menu page, 'no-fee online ordering' and pickup and delivery order types are included in every US restaurant bundle (Clover online ordering and restaurant pricing pages).
Online orders fire straight to the kitchen and the Clover POS, and the online menu syncs with the POS menu; Scan to Order QR codes let dine-in guests order and pay from the table, with or without a running tab (Clover online ordering page and help centre).
Customers can schedule orders days ahead, redeem Clover loyalty rewards on web orders, and find the restaurant through Order with Google and the Clover consumer app (Clover help centre, online ordering and eCommerce pages).
Online ordering only works with a Clover POS device (Station Solo, Station Duo, Mini or Flex) connected to a printer, and not on the Payments Plus or Register Lite plans; US restaurant bundles cost $135–$354 a month for 36 months (Clover online ordering and pricing pages).
Online orders are card-not-present payments at a higher rate: 3.5% + 10¢ on Clover.com US restaurant plans, against 2.3% + 10¢ in person (Clover pricing page and help centre).
Clover's own delivery option for online orders is DoorDash Drive, in the US only (the listed fulfilment options have no in-house delivery), and discounts and promotions can't be used on online orders (Clover help centre).
Full-service and multi-location restaurants in the US and Canada (outside Québec) that run TouchBistro's POS and want commission-free takeout and delivery orders on their own website
TouchBistro is an iPad-based restaurant POS from Toronto, and TouchBistro Online Ordering is a paid add-on that gives a restaurant its own ordering page for pickup and delivery, with each order sent straight to the POS. It works only with TouchBistro's own POS and is available in the United States and Canada (not Québec). TouchBistro takes no commission on online orders; the restaurant pays a POS subscription from $69 a month, a quote-priced Online Ordering add-on, hardware and card processing, on a fixed-term contract.
Price
From $69/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
Diners pay and tip online by card through TouchBistro Payments, available to US and Canadian venues; each location applies separately. TouchBistro's help centre (archived September 2024) said Visa, Mastercard and Amex were the only accepted cards. For in-person payments, TouchBistro Payments is US-only; TouchBistro also works with other processors through payment partners. DoorDash Drive delivery orders must be paid online.
No commission on online orders: TouchBistro says restaurants pay $0 in commission fees on direct orders, with card processing fees the only per-order cost (online ordering and pricing FAQs).
Online orders arrive on the TouchBistro POS with a notification. Customers can order ahead for a scheduled pickup, pay and tip online, and order through a website 'Order Now' button, a direct link or the TouchBistro Dine discovery site (online ordering page).
Delivery by the restaurant's own drivers, with its own delivery zones and fees, or through DoorDash Drive for a flat per-order fee with no commission. UrbanPiper and Deliverect connect third-party delivery apps to the POS (online ordering and integrations pages).
Works only with TouchBistro's own POS and only in the US and Canada, excluding Québec. The ordering page is English only; menu items can be written in any Latin-alphabet language (online ordering FAQ).
No published price for Online Ordering: it is a quote-priced add-on on top of POS software from $69 a month, with hardware, payment processing and additional fees extra (pricing page).
Contracts run for a fixed initial term that renews automatically for the same length unless cancelled at least 30 days before it ends, and cannot be ended early (terms of service).
Canadian restaurants and chains that want a branded ordering website and app tied into their POS and Moneris payments, and are happy to buy through a sales quote
UEAT is a white-label online ordering platform from Québec City, owned by the Canadian payments company Moneris since 2021 and now sold as "UEAT online ordering" on Moneris' site. It gives independent restaurants, chains and franchises a commission-free ordering page on their own website, branded mobile apps, QR and kiosk ordering, and UEAT Hub, which sends web, Uber Eats, DoorDash and Skip orders to the POS. Pricing is quote-only today; the last published list (April 2024) started at CAD $99 a month plus a CAD $249 implementation fee and 2.9% + $0.30 per card payment.
Price
Quote only
Commission
0%
Online payments
Customers pay online through the ordering page. UEAT's April 2024 price list charged 2.9% + $0.30 per Visa or Mastercard payment on Essential and Growth. Moneris, which owns UEAT, was its preferred payment processor in Canada before the 2021 acquisition. The table-ordering page mentions Google Pay and Apple Pay, and Moneris' page mentions digital gift cards at checkout.
Includes: Own ordering website · QR table ordering · Pickup · Delivery orders · Your own drivers · Online payments · Loyalty · Marketing tools · Branded app · Delivery-app integration · Multiple locations
No commission on orders: restaurants pay a flat monthly platform fee plus card processing, and keep the customer data from direct orders (UEAT pricing FAQ, archived April 2024; Moneris UEAT page).
UEAT Hub sends direct web orders and Uber Eats, DoorDash and Skip orders straight to the restaurant's POS and kitchen display, instead of several tablets (Moneris UEAT page FAQ).
Pickup, curbside, delivery, dine-in and self-ordering are managed from one dashboard; delivery can go through Uber Direct, DoorDash Drive or the restaurant's own fleet (Moneris UEAT page; UEAT delivery page).
No public prices: Moneris asks restaurants to request a quote. The last published list (April 2024, archived) started at CAD $99 a month plus a CAD $249 implementation fee, with Pro quote-only.
Card payments cost 2.9% + $0.30 per Visa or Mastercard payment on Essential and Growth, on top of the monthly fee (UEAT pricing page, archived April 2024).
UEAT's diner terms say customers are generally charged an application fee per order and/or a non-refundable UEAT order processing fee, with no amount published (UEAT terms, archived January 2026).
Asia-Pacific restaurants and multi-brand groups that want an iPad POS, their own ordering website, QR ordering and delivery-app orders in one system
Eats365 is an iPad restaurant POS from Hong Kong, with online ordering sold as add-on modules: a Branded Online Store website, QR scan-to-order and the Eats365 Marketplace. It sells to restaurants in Asia-Pacific and North America, from single cafes to multi-brand groups. It charges a monthly subscription per licence: Biz-Lite is free, paid plans start at USD 25 a month on annual billing, and modules cost extra.
Price
Free plan · from $25/mo
Commission
Not published. The pricing page lists subscription fees only and shows no per-order commission.
Online payments
The restaurant links an integrated payment gateway in the Merchant Portal. Gateways documented for the Branded Online Store include Eats365's own 365pay aggregator (Eats365 partners with Adyen for it), Global Payments and KPay in Japan. Cash on pickup and cash on delivery can also be allowed.
Has a free Biz-Lite plan for small merchants focused on online ordering. Paid plans are published and start at USD 25 a month on annual billing (Eats365 pricing page).
The Branded Online Store takes pickup, delivery, catering and QR dine-in orders plus reservations. Orders sync to the POS and kitchen display (Eats365 Knowledge Base).
Eats365 Biz collects orders from third-party delivery platforms, the Branded Online Store and the Eats365 Marketplace on one Android device (Eats365 Biz page).
The Branded Online Store has no published price: it is not on the pricing page and licences are bought through the sales team. Loyalty, reservations and gift cards are also 'Contact Us' (Eats365 pricing page, Eats365 Knowledge Base).
The online store only works when paired with an Eats365 POS, Biz or Biz Lite. Scan-to-Order (BYOD) and reservations each need a separate licence (Eats365 Knowledge Base).
Delivery on the online store is available only in some countries and regions (Eats365 Branded Online Store page).
Restaurants, bars and hotels that already run a Maitre'D POS and want website orders to go straight into the POS and kitchen for a flat monthly fee
Maitre'D is a restaurant POS owned by Montreal-based PayFacto, and its online ordering module adds an ordering page to the restaurant's own website that sends orders straight to the Maitre'D POS and kitchen. It is sold to restaurants, bars, hotels and chains through sales advisors and resellers, not a self-serve signup. Online ordering costs £39 a month per location plus a £399 setup fee, with add-ons at £29 a month each and no commission listed; the POS and card processing are priced separately.
Price
From £39/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
Maitre'D Payments (PayFacto) takes in-person, online and Pay by Link payments and supports credit and debit cards, Interac, Interac Konek, digital wallets and gift cards. Restaurants can instead keep a certified third-party processor, and multi-site operators can use different processors at different locations. For delivery, guests can pay online, by phone or at the door.
The online ordering price is published: £39 a month per location plus a £399 setup fee, with optional add-ons (loyalty and gift cards, table booking, accounting, hotel integration) at £29 a month each and no per-order commission listed (Maitre'D online ordering page).
Online orders go straight into the Maitre'D POS and kitchen, with the menu and item availability synced from the POS. The ordering page opens from the restaurant's website or a QR code and supports pickup, order-ahead and scheduled orders (Maitre'D online ordering and ordering modes pages).
Connects to third-party ordering and delivery platforms such as Olo, Deliverect, Checkmate, UEAT and iShopFood, and the delivery mode includes driver dispatch and delivery zones (Maitre'D ordering modes and multi-site pages).
Online ordering is an add-on that connects to a Maitre'D POS, which is priced separately: Virtuo cloud POS plans cost $59.95 to $149.95 a month (currency not stated) and Enterprise is quote only (Maitre'D Virtuo and online ordering pages).
There is no self-serve signup: restaurants talk to an advisor or a reseller, and the reseller finder lists only Canadian locations (Maitre'D online ordering and reseller pages).
Card processing rates are not published. Maitre'D Payments quotes personalised rates based on volume (Maitre'D payments page).
Independent US and Canadian restaurants that want a done-for-you ordering website, branded app and marketing for a flat monthly fee
ChowNow is a US online ordering platform for independent restaurants: a commission-free ordering website and widget, branded iOS and Android apps, a diner marketplace, catering, QR ordering, email and SMS marketing, and delivery-app order aggregation. It serves restaurants in the US and Canada, and its team sets up the menu, website and POS link. It charges a flat monthly subscription from $229 a month on an annual term ($249 billed monthly), plus a $119–$499 setup fee, 2.95% + $0.29 per card transaction and 5% on catering orders.
Price
From $229/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
Diners pay online through ChowNow, which charges the restaurant 2.95% + $0.29 per transaction, covers card fraud and chargebacks, and pays out the next business day. ChowNow's diner terms mention Apple Pay and Google Pay. The underlying card processor is not named.
Includes: Own ordering website · QR table ordering · Pickup · Delivery orders · Your own drivers · Scheduled orders · Online payments · Loyalty · Marketing tools · Branded app · Delivery-app integration · Multiple locations
No commission on orders from the restaurant's own website, branded app or the ChowNow Marketplace; the restaurant pays a flat monthly fee plus card processing (Direct Online Ordering and Marketplace pages).
Every plan includes branded iOS and Android apps that ChowNow builds, publishes and maintains (only Apple's $99 yearly developer fee is extra), plus full card fraud and chargeback protection (Branded Mobile Apps page, pricing page).
Flex Delivery sends orders to Uber Direct or DoorDash Drive drivers for a flat $7.98 per order, up to 10 miles where Uber is available (8 miles with DoorDash Drive), alongside or instead of the restaurant's own drivers (Flex Delivery page, pricing page).
No free plan: the cheapest plan (Launch) is $229 a month on an annual term or $249 billed monthly, plus a $119–$499 setup fee. In April 2026 the cheapest ordering plan (Pro) was $199 a month on an annual term, $229 monthly (pricing page, archived pricing pages).
On top of the subscription: 2.95% + $0.29 per card transaction, $250–$420 for a printer and a 5% fee on every catering order (pricing page, ChowNow FAQ).
Orders from ChowNow's discovery listings (Order Better Network) carry a fee that is not published; ChowNow's Profit Protector offsets it by raising menu prices on those orders (Profit Protector support article, pricing FAQ).
Whether restaurants in Canada can sign up and use it today: a local site, local pricing, local customers or a sign-up open to any country.
What it costs a small restaurant: the monthly price, any commission or per-order fee, and contracts.
What it does for ordering: your own website, QR table ordering, delivery, pickup and payments.
Menuthere is on the list because it is a real option here, and we put it where its strengths — no commission and a free plan — fit; its limits (such as payments outside India) are stated in its entry.
Nobody paid to be on this list. Prices change: check each company's own page before you sign.
Questions
Online ordering in Canada, answered.
It depends on what you need. Lightspeed Restaurant is best for full-service and multi-location restaurants that want POS, online ordering and QR order-and-pay in one sales-led package; Square Online is best for restaurants and cafés already on Square POS in the US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Australia, Japan, France or Spain that want a free, commission-free ordering page; Menuthere is best for restaurants in Canada that want their own ordering page with 0% commission and a free plan; Toast is best for restaurants in the US, Canada, the UK, Ireland or Australia that want POS, online ordering and table QR ordering from one vendor and can sign a multi-year contract. The table on this page compares all 10 on price, commission and features.
Of the systems on this page, Lightspeed Restaurant, Square Online, Menuthere, Toast, Clover, TouchBistro, UEAT, Maitre'D and ChowNow take no commission on orders; card processing is still charged by the payment provider. Check each system's page for its fees.
Square Online, Menuthere and Eats365 have a free plan. The rest start at a monthly fee or are quoted per restaurant.
Lightspeed Restaurant: From $69/mo, commission 0%. Square Online: Free plan · from $49/mo, commission 0%. Menuthere: Free plan · from $9/mo, commission 0%. Toast: From $69/mo, commission 0%. Clover: From $89.95/mo, commission 0%. TouchBistro: From $69/mo, commission 0%. UEAT: Quote only, commission 0%. Eats365: Free plan · from $25/mo, commission Not published. The pricing page lists subscription fees only and shows no per-order commission.. Maitre'D: From £39/mo, commission 0%. ChowNow: From $229/mo, commission 0%.
Not yet: customers pay cash, on delivery or at pickup (card payments are planned). Menuthere charges 0% commission on every plan.