
Loading Menuthere...
Please do not close this window

Please do not close this window
GAAP Point-of-Sale alternatives · 2026
GAAP Point-of-Sale is priced by quote. Menuthere gives your restaurant its own ordering website, QR menu and table ordering with 0% commission, free to start and $9 a month on Lite.
Menuthere vs GAAP Point-of-Sale
GAAP Point-of-Sale is a South African hospitality POS company owned by Lesaka Technologies, which brought GAAP under the Lesaka name on 1 August 2026. Alongside its cloud POS it sells an e-commerce ordering app: a white-label progressive web app for ordering at the table by QR code, skip-the-queue pickup and order-ahead pickup or delivery, with orders going straight into the GAAP POS and kitchen screens. It is aimed at independent and franchise restaurants in South Africa and other African countries. Prices are by quote only; the POS is rented for a monthly fee plus support fees, under terms that set a minimum rental period of 60 months, depending on the POS solution.
Price
GAAP Point-of-Sale: Quote only
Menuthere: Free plan · from $9/mo
Commission per order
GAAP Point-of-Sale: Not published. GAAP does not state a per-order commission or fee for orders taken through its e-commerce app.
Menuthere: 0%
Contract
GAAP Point-of-Sale: The Master Rental Agreement of POS Solutions (terms v10) runs for a minimum rental period of 60 months, 'depending on the POS Solutions'. It then renews automatically for 12-month periods, and ending it needs at least 90 days' written notice before the end of a period. The client cannot settle early or cancel unless GAAP agrees, which can include paying the rentals up to the end of the term. The monthly rental and service fees go up every year by at least South Africa's headline CPI. The terms do not set separate contract terms for the e-commerce app.
Menuthere: Month to month
Setup fee
GAAP Point-of-Sale: Not published. Under the rental terms GAAP delivers and installs the goods, and the client signs a Delivery and Installation Certificate.
Menuthere: None
Side by side
“—” means the company doesn't publish it. Menuthere's plan for each feature is shown next to it.
| Menuthere | GAAP Point-of-Sale | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free plan · from $9/mo | Quote only |
| Commission per order | 0% | Not published. GAAP does not state a per-order commission or fee for orders taken through its e-commerce app. |
| Contract | Month to month; 7-day free trial on Lite and Pro | The Master Rental Agreement of POS Solutions (terms v10) runs for a minimum rental period of 60 months, 'depending on the POS Solutions'. It then renews automatically for 12-month periods, and ending it needs at least 90 days' written notice before the end of a period. The client cannot settle early or cancel unless GAAP agrees, which can include paying the rentals up to the end of the term. The monthly rental and service fees go up every year by at least South Africa's headline CPI. The terms do not set separate contract terms for the e-commerce app. |
| Own ordering website | Yes | Yes |
| QR table ordering | Yes | Yes |
| Pickup | Yes | Yes |
| Delivery orders | Yes | Yes |
| Your own drivers | Yes · Pro | Not published |
| Scheduled orders | Yes · Lite | Yes |
| Online payments | No | Yes |
| POS | No | Yes |
| Loyalty | Yes · Pro | Yes |
| Marketing tools | Yes · Lite | Yes |
| WhatsApp ordering or updates | Yes | Not published |
| Branded app | Yes · Enterprise | Yes |
| Delivery-app integration | No | Yes |
| Multiple locations | Yes · Pro | Yes |
| Menu translation | Yes · Lite | Not published |
| Reservations | Yes · Lite | Not published |
Menuthere's online payments work in India today; elsewhere customers pay cash, on delivery or at pickup while card payments are being added.
Why restaurants look elsewhere
Recurring points from reviews, forums and the press, each from a source listed at the foot of the page.
Be fair to it
And Menuthere's limits
Other alternatives
| Menuthere | YUMBI | Lightspeed Restaurant | FoodChow | Odoo | Deonde | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | Free plan · from $9/mo | Quote only | From $69/mo | From ₹5,475 one-time | Free plan · from $31.10/mo | Free plan · from $39/mo |
| Commission per order | 0% | Not published. YUMBI's invoice includes an order processing fee on orders (help centre billing article), and its help centre says YUMBI charges a commission on the order amount after any discount voucher (voucher FAQ). No rate is published. | 0% | 1.8% per order on every plan (the pricing page's 'Per Order Commisson' row; its FAQ calls it a 1.8% transaction fee on every order). The same pricing page, the Features page and the homepage say cash orders carry 0% commission, and the homepage sign-up form promises 'zero commission'. | 0% | 0% |
| Contract | Month to month; 7-day free trial on Lite and Pro | Signed commercial agreement whose terms are not published. Billed monthly by debit order; a returned debit order adds an administration fee, and services are suspended until payment is made. To cancel, a restaurant sends a cancellation request form and a signed letter on its company letterhead; the cancellation follows the agreement's terms and the last invoice is on the last day of the month. | Not stated on the US or Australian pricing pages; the Norwegian price list says its price applies to a 12-month contract period | No contract published. Lifetime plans are paid once; add-ons are billed yearly or monthly. The pricing page offers a '100 % Money Back Guarantee' and a 90-day growth guarantee (250 orders in 90 days or FoodChow keeps working for free), but the refund policy says service fees charged to restaurant owners are non-refundable. | Billed yearly or monthly. Monthly billing is only for cloud hosting (Odoo Online or Odoo.sh), and yearly billing is cheaper. | Monthly, cancel anytime (pricing pages); downgrades take effect at the next billing cycle (Deonde pricing FAQ). The terms say subscriptions may renew automatically unless cancelled before the renewal date, subscription fees are non-refundable, and for apps the subscription starts when they go live on the App Store and Play Store. |
| Own ordering website | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| QR table ordering | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Delivery orders | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Your own drivers | Yes · Pro | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not published | Yes |
| Scheduled orders | Yes · Lite | Not published | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Online payments | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| POS | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
| Loyalty | Yes · Pro | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Marketing tools | Yes · Lite | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| WhatsApp ordering or updates | Yes | Not published | Not published | Yes | Yes | Not published |
| Branded app | Yes · Enterprise | Yes | Not published | Yes | Not published | Yes |
| Delivery-app integration | No | Yes | Yes | Not published | Yes | Not published |
| Multiple locations | Yes · Pro | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Menu translation | Yes · Lite | Not published | Not published | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Reservations | Yes · Lite | Not published | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Multi-location QSR and franchise brands in South Africa and other African markets that want their own branded website, apps and call centre tied into their existing POS.
Quote only
YUMBI alternativesFull-service and multi-location restaurants that want POS, online ordering and QR order-and-pay in one sales-led package.
From $69/mo
Lightspeed Restaurant alternativesSmall restaurants, cafés and sweet shops, mainly in India, that would rather pay once than monthly for an ordering website, app and QR ordering.
From ₹5,475 one-time
FoodChow alternativesRestaurants that want QR ordering, kiosks and kitchen screens in a POS linked to full accounting and inventory, and can manage a more involved setup.
Free plan · from $31.10/mo
Odoo alternativesRestaurants that want to start free on a commission-free ordering site and later pay per outlet for a branded app, loyalty and their own drivers.
Free plan · from $39/mo
Deonde alternativesQuestions
How GAAP Point-of-Sale ranks: South Africa · Kenya · Nigeria
Sources · checked 2026-09-26
Menuthere gives your restaurant an ordering website, QR menu and table ordering. Free to start, live in minutes.