The 10 best online ordering systems for restaurants in South Africa.
Restaurants in South Africa take orders on their own websites, apps and tables through local and regional systems such as YUMBI, Lightspeed Restaurant and GAAP Point-of-Sale. Of the 9 systems compared here besides Menuthere, 6 say they take no commission on orders and 4 have a free plan; the rest charge a monthly fee or quote per restaurant.
Menuthere publishes this list and makes one of the systems on it (number 4). Every figure comes from the companies' own pages, dated and listed on each system's page. How we ranked them is at the foot of the page.
At a glance
10 systems, and who each one is best for.
1YUMBIMulti-location QSR and franchise brands in South Africa and other African markets that want their own branded website, apps and call centre tied into their existing POSQuote only
2Lightspeed RestaurantFull-service and multi-location restaurants that want POS, online ordering and QR order-and-pay in one sales-led packageFrom $69/mo
3GAAP Point-of-SaleSouth African franchise and quick-service restaurants on GAAP POS that want QR table ordering, pickup and order-ahead linked to their tills, kitchen screens and rewardsQuote only
4MenuthereRestaurants in South Africa that want their own ordering page with 0% commission and a free planFree plan · from $9/mo
5FoodChowSmall restaurants, cafés and sweet shops, mainly in India, that would rather pay once than monthly for an ordering website, app and QR orderingFrom ₹5,475 one-time
6OdooRestaurants that want QR ordering, kiosks and kitchen screens in a POS linked to full accounting and inventory, and can manage a more involved setupFree plan · from $31.10/mo
7DeondeRestaurants that want to start free on a commission-free ordering site and later pay per outlet for a branded app, loyalty and their own driversFree plan · from $39/mo
8StorekitUK restaurants and groups that want commission-free pickup, delivery and catering ordering under their own brand, with QR order & pay and pay-at-table on the Pro planFree plan · from £82/mo
9Take AppSmall restaurants, cafés and home kitchens in almost any country that already take orders on WhatsApp and want a free menu link with local payment methodsFree plan · from $50/mo
10Wix RestaurantsSmall restaurants that want a do-it-yourself website with online ordering, QR dine-in and table reservations built inFrom $29/mo
Side by side
Price, commission and features, all 10 compared.
“—” means the company doesn't publish it. Menuthere's plan for each feature is shown next to it.
Online ordering systems for restaurants in South Africa, compared
Not published. YUMBI's invoice includes an order processing fee on orders (help centre billing article), and its help centre says YUMBI charges a commission on the order amount after any discount voucher (voucher FAQ). No rate is published.
0%
Not published. GAAP does not state a per-order commission or fee for orders taken through its e-commerce app.
0%
1.8% per order on every plan (the pricing page's 'Per Order Commisson' row; its FAQ calls it a 1.8% transaction fee on every order). The same pricing page, the Features page and the homepage say cash orders carry 0% commission, and the homepage sign-up form promises 'zero commission'.
0%
0%
0%
0%
0%
Contract
Signed commercial agreement whose terms are not published. Billed monthly by debit order; a returned debit order adds an administration fee, and services are suspended until payment is made. To cancel, a restaurant sends a cancellation request form and a signed letter on its company letterhead; the cancellation follows the agreement's terms and the last invoice is on the last day of the month.
Not stated on the US or Australian pricing pages; the Norwegian price list says its price applies to a 12-month contract period
The Master Rental Agreement of POS Solutions (terms v10) runs for a minimum rental period of 60 months, 'depending on the POS Solutions'. It then renews automatically for 12-month periods, and ending it needs at least 90 days' written notice before the end of a period. The client cannot settle early or cancel unless GAAP agrees, which can include paying the rentals up to the end of the term. The monthly rental and service fees go up every year by at least South Africa's headline CPI. The terms do not set separate contract terms for the e-commerce app.
Month to month; 7-day free trial on Lite and Pro
No contract published. Lifetime plans are paid once; add-ons are billed yearly or monthly. The pricing page offers a '100 % Money Back Guarantee' and a 90-day growth guarantee (250 orders in 90 days or FoodChow keeps working for free), but the refund policy says service fees charged to restaurant owners are non-refundable.
Billed yearly or monthly. Monthly billing is only for cloud hosting (Odoo Online or Odoo.sh), and yearly billing is cheaper.
Monthly, cancel anytime (pricing pages); downgrades take effect at the next billing cycle (Deonde pricing FAQ). The terms say subscriptions may renew automatically unless cancelled before the renewal date, subscription fees are non-refundable, and for apps the subscription starts when they go live on the App Store and Play Store.
Basic, Grow and Pro are rolling monthly, cancel any time; Enterprise runs on an agreed term (pricing page). The fee docs also describe a 'monthly' billing type that is a 12-month commitment with a lower transaction rate.
Monthly, or yearly at a discount. The restaurants page says no long-term contract is needed. Yearly plans are paid up front: you can cancel the renewal at any time but cannot end the current term early.
Displayed prices are for yearly plans paid upfront; other subscription periods are available; 14-day money-back guarantee
Own ordering website
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
QR table ordering
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Pickup
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Delivery orders
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Your own drivers
Yes
Yes
Not published
Yes · Pro
Yes
Not published
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Scheduled orders
Not published
Yes
Yes
Yes · Lite
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Online payments
Yes
Yes
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
POS
No
Yes
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
No
No
Yes
Yes
Loyalty
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes · Pro
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Marketing tools
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes · Lite
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
WhatsApp ordering or updates
Not published
Not published
Not published
Yes
Yes
Yes
Not published
Not published
Yes
Not published
Branded app
Yes
Not published
Yes
Yes · Enterprise
Yes
Not published
Yes
Yes
No
Not published
Delivery-app integration
Yes
Yes
Yes
No
Not published
Yes
Not published
Yes
Not published
Not published
Multiple locations
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes · Pro
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Menu translation
Not published
Not published
Not published
Yes · Lite
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Not published
Yes
Reservations
Not published
Yes
Not published
Yes · Lite
Yes
Yes
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
Where Menuthere fits in South Africa
Your own ordering page, without paying commission.
0% commission on every plan: your customers' orders are yours in full.
Free to start, with 50 orders a month. Lite is $9 a month for unlimited orders and your own domain.
Your own ordering website, QR menus and table ordering, with a partner app that rings until you accept each order.
Pro adds WhatsApp order updates on your own number, loyalty points and your own delivery riders.
Online card payments aren't available in South Africa yet: customers pay cash, on delivery or at pickup, and card payments are planned.
The 10 best online ordering systems in South Africa.
1
1. YUMBI
Multi-location QSR and franchise brands in South Africa and other African markets that want their own branded website, apps and call centre tied into their existing POS
YUMBI is a South African platform that gives restaurant brands a white-label ordering website and Android and iOS apps (StoreFront), plus call-centre ordering, QR table ordering, marketing campaigns and a Gateway layer that links their POS, Uber Eats, Mr D and delivery providers. It is built for multi-location restaurant and quick-service brands, and its site lists seven African markets: South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Kenya, Nigeria, Zambia and Côte d'Ivoire. Prices are quote-only: restaurants sign a commercial agreement, and the monthly invoice can include a subscription fee, an order processing fee on orders and online card-payment fees.
Price
Quote only
Commission
Not published. YUMBI's invoice includes an order processing fee on orders (help centre billing article), and its help centre says YUMBI charges a commission on the order amount after any discount voucher (voucher FAQ). No rate is published.
Online payments
Restaurants on YUMBI must accept online card payments and cannot have them switched off. Its listed payment integrations are DPO PayGate and PayFast; StoreFront also offers EFT and mobile money where a market uses them, and cash or card on collection or delivery can be set per store. A restaurant can use YUMBI's PaySwitch service, where YUMBI settles online payments into the store's account on a fixed schedule, or have its own provider pay it directly. Customers can also pay with YUMBI eVouchers and third-party vouchers such as Yoyo and WiGroup.
Includes: Own ordering website · QR table ordering · Pickup · Delivery orders · Your own drivers · Online payments · Loyalty · Marketing tools · Branded app · Delivery-app integration · Multiple locations
One platform covers a white-label website, Android and iOS apps, call-centre ordering (Switchboard), QR table ordering with tips (Dine-In) and in-store scan-to-order (To-Go); Dine-In needs no tablets or kiosks, only a printed QR code (YUMBI product pages).
Connects to POS systems used in South Africa (Aura, GAAP, Micros, Munch, Pilot), to Uber Eats and Mr D, and to delivery providers Uber Direct, DeliveryTribe, Yango and Skedadel, and supports a restaurant's own driver fleet (YUMBI Integrations and Gateway pages).
If the POS goes offline, orders go to a YUMBI GSM printer with its own SIM card and battery backup, or to the OrderUp tablet, so the kitchen still receives them (YUMBI home page, To-Go page and help centre).
No published prices or free plan: new brands go through a sales enquiry form (YUMBI contact page), then a service activation form and a signed commercial agreement (YUMBI help centre).
Not commission-free: the monthly invoice can include a subscription fee plus an order processing fee on orders and a processing fee on online card payments, with campaign SMS and push messages billed on top (YUMBI help centre billing article).
Built for chains: the sales form's location options are 15 to 50, 50 to 100 and 100 to 200+ restaurants (or "Not applicable"), and the usual 7-day go-live time applies only to restaurants in a brand YUMBI already works with (YUMBI contact page and help centre).
Full-service and multi-location restaurants that want POS, online ordering and QR order-and-pay in one sales-led package
Lightspeed Restaurant is a cloud POS for restaurants, bars and hotels, with its own online ordering and QR order-and-pay module called Order Anywhere. It suits full-service and multi-location venues that want in-house, takeaway, delivery and table orders in one system. It charges a monthly subscription per plan (from 69 USD a month in the US), with online ordering included from the Essential plan or sold as an add-on, and card processing through Lightspeed Payments.
Price
From $69/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
Online payments go through Lightspeed Payments (card, Apple Pay; Twint in Switzerland; Bancontact, Payconiq and iDEAL in Belgium and the Netherlands) or Stripe; customers can also pay in person at pickup or after a table meal.
Includes: Own ordering website · QR table ordering · Pickup · Delivery orders · Your own drivers · Scheduled orders · Online payments · POS · Loyalty · Marketing tools · Delivery-app integration · Multiple locations · Reservations
Online, QR table and in-house orders land in the same POS; Order Anywhere has pickup-and-delivery and table profiles, and customers can order ahead for a later date or time (Lightspeed help centre).
Delivery can use the restaurant's own staff with its own zones, fees and minimums, or Uber Direct couriers with 0% commission and only a per-delivery fee (Uber Direct in the UK, Germany, Canada and the US only).
Orders from Uber Eats, DoorDash and SkipTheDishes can be sent to the POS through Deliverect (an add-on), and Order with Google sends Google Search and Maps users to the Order Anywhere site.
Online ordering and order-and-pay at table are not in the 69 USD Starter plan; they need the 189 USD Essential plan or a paid add-on (A$59 a month in Australia).
Card processing rates are not published on the US pricing page ('Default' on Starter, 'Custom' on Essential and Premium).
Not self-serve: plans start from a quote request, and Order Anywhere is bought through an account manager or [email protected].
South African franchise and quick-service restaurants on GAAP POS that want QR table ordering, pickup and order-ahead linked to their tills, kitchen screens and rewards
GAAP Point-of-Sale is a South African hospitality POS company owned by Lesaka Technologies, which brought GAAP under the Lesaka name on 1 August 2026. Alongside its cloud POS it sells an e-commerce ordering app: a white-label progressive web app for ordering at the table by QR code, skip-the-queue pickup and order-ahead pickup or delivery, with orders going straight into the GAAP POS and kitchen screens. It is aimed at independent and franchise restaurants in South Africa and other African countries. Prices are by quote only; the POS is rented for a monthly fee plus support fees, under terms that set a minimum rental period of 60 months, depending on the POS solution.
Price
Quote only
Commission
Not published. GAAP does not state a per-order commission or fee for orders taken through its e-commerce app.
Online payments
The e-commerce app uses GAAP's 'fully integrated payment gateway' (the gateway is not named) and accepts credit and debit cards, contactless payments and Zapper. GAAP's integrations page also lists South African mobile-payment partners for its systems, including PayGate (DPO), SnapScan and Zapper.
Online ordering is part of the POS. E-commerce orders go straight into the GAAP POS and onto the Kitchen Fusion System screens, and customers can follow their order status live in the app (GAAP e-commerce page).
One white-label ordering app has three modes: ordering at the table by scanning a table QR code, skip-the-queue pickup at a chosen time, and order-ahead for pickup or delivery at a set time (GAAP e-commerce page and eCommerce brochure).
Customers can earn and redeem Unity Rewards in the ordering app, and restaurants can run rewards campaigns just for the app. GAAP's integrations page also lists Uber Eats and Mr D among the delivery and ordering platforms its systems connect to (GAAP e-commerce, rewards and 3rd party integration pages).
No prices are published for the e-commerce app or the POS; everything is quoted through an enquiry form (GAAP website).
The POS rental agreement sets a minimum rental period of 60 months (depending on the POS solution), then renews automatically for 12 months at a time and needs 90 days' written notice to end. It cannot be settled early or cancelled without GAAP's agreement, which can include paying the remaining rentals (GAAP terms and conditions v10).
Rental and service fees rise every year by at least South Africa's headline CPI. Standard support hours are 08:00 to 17:00 on business days, and after-hours labour is for emergencies only and billed extra (GAAP terms and conditions v10).
Restaurants in South Africa that want their own ordering page with 0% commission and a free plan
Menuthere gives your restaurant its own ordering website, QR menus and table ordering with 0% commission on every plan, including a free plan with 50 orders a month. Lite at $9 a month adds unlimited orders and your own domain; Pro at $39 adds WhatsApp order updates on your own number, loyalty points and your own delivery riders.
Online card payments aren't available in South Africa yet: customers pay cash, on delivery or at pickup.
Price
Free plan · from $9/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
Not yet: customers pay cash, on delivery or at pickup (card payments are planned)
Includes: Own ordering website · QR table ordering · Pickup · Delivery orders · Your own drivers · Scheduled orders · Loyalty · Marketing tools · WhatsApp ordering or updates · Branded app · Multiple locations · Menu translation · Reservations
0% commission on every plan, and a free plan with 50 orders a month.
Lite at $9 a month adds your own domain, unlimited orders, translated menus and scheduled orders.
The partner app for Android and iPhone rings until an order is accepted.
Online card payments work only in India today; elsewhere customers pay cash, on delivery or at pickup.
No POS of its own on the self-serve plans (Petpooja integration on Pro).
No integration with delivery apps such as Uber Eats or Deliveroo.
Small restaurants, cafés and sweet shops, mainly in India, that would rather pay once than monthly for an ordering website, app and QR ordering
FoodChow is an online ordering and POS platform from Tenacious Techies in Surat, India. It gives restaurants, cafés and sweet shops an ordering website, their own mobile app, QR table ordering, a POS billing app and delivery management for their own drivers. It sells one-time 'lifetime' plans from ₹5,475 in India ($300 elsewhere), and its pricing page lists a 1.8% fee on each order.
Price
From ₹5,475 one-time
Commission
1.8% per order on every plan (the pricing page's 'Per Order Commisson' row; its FAQ calls it a 1.8% transaction fee on every order). The same pricing page, the Features page and the homepage say cash orders carry 0% commission, and the homepage sign-up form promises 'zero commission'.
Online payments
Restaurants connect their own payment gateway and receive the money directly. The pricing page lists Razorpay on every plan, and FoodChow's FAQ page says restaurants set up their own PayPal account for online payments. Cash on delivery is also supported.
Includes: Own ordering website · QR table ordering · Pickup · Delivery orders · Your own drivers · Scheduled orders · Online payments · POS · Loyalty · Marketing tools · WhatsApp ordering or updates · Branded app · Multiple locations · Menu translation · Reservations
Prices are published: the 'lifetime' plans are paid once, from ₹5,475 in India or $300 elsewhere, rather than as a monthly subscription (FoodChow pricing page).
One platform covers an ordering website, the restaurant's own mobile app, QR table ordering, table reservations, pre-orders and a POS billing app (FoodChow pricing, Features and home pages).
Restaurants can run delivery with their own drivers from a delivery dashboard that assigns each order to a driver (FoodChow delivery dashboard page; 'Own Driver / Porter' on the pricing page).
The pricing page lists a 1.8% per-order commission on every plan, while the homepage promises zero commission; the pricing and Features pages say only cash orders are commission-free (FoodChow pricing, home and Features pages).
The entry plan covers takeaway and dine-in only. Delivery needs the ₹10,900 plan, and the full POS billing app, SEO and coaching need the ₹25,000 Growth Plan (FoodChow pricing page).
On the lifetime plans, WhatsApp integration (₹5,475 or $300 a year), extra menus (₹2,000 or $100 a year) and the Bio Link module (₹900 or $49 a month) cost extra (FoodChow pricing page).
Restaurants that want QR ordering, kiosks and kitchen screens in a POS linked to full accounting and inventory, and can manage a more involved setup
Odoo is a Belgian suite of open-source business apps. Its POS Restaurant app runs table service, kitchen displays, QR and kiosk self-ordering, and takeaway and delivery orders, and its eCommerce app adds an online ordering website. It suits restaurants that want the till connected to Odoo's accounting, inventory and marketing apps. One app, such as POS Restaurant, is free for unlimited users. Using two or more apps costs a fee per user per month (Standard is US$31.10 billed yearly), and the pricing page lists no per-order commission.
Price
Free plan · from $31.10/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
Online payments go through a payment provider the restaurant connects. Options include Adyen, Stripe, PayPal, Razorpay, Mercado Pago, Mollie, Xendit, Flutterwave, Paymob and PayU. Pay-on-site and cash on delivery are also available. In-store card terminals include Adyen, Stripe, Viva.com, Worldline, SIX, Ingenico, Mercado Pago, Razorpay, Pine Labs, Tyro, QFPay, Mollie and DPO Pay. QR self-orders can take one online payment method. At a kiosk, card terminals must be Adyen or Stripe, guests can also pay online by scanning a QR code, and cash is not accepted.
POS Restaurant is free with unlimited users on the One App Free plan, and the pricing page lists no per-order commission (Odoo pricing page; Odoo POS Restaurant page).
QR table ordering and self-order kiosks are built into the POS. Guests order and pay from their phone or a kiosk, and orders go straight to the kitchen preparation display (Odoo 19.0 documentation, Self-ordering).
Dine-in, takeaway, eCommerce website orders and delivery-app orders are handled in one place. Delivery can be limited to a set radius, and orders can be booked into time slots (Odoo POS Restaurant features page; Odoo documentation, Presets).
Website orders for delivery or pickup run through Odoo's eCommerce app, which is separate from POS. Installing a second app moves the restaurant off the free plan onto Standard, at US$31.10 per user a month billed yearly (US$24.90 in the first year) (Odoo pricing page; Odoo POS Restaurant features page).
Delivery-app orders come in through UrbanPiper. This needs a separate UrbanPiper subscription, an Odoo Enterprise subscription and a reseller account with each delivery platform (Odoo 19.0 documentation, UrbanPiper).
Customers can only place QR or kiosk orders while the POS register is open (Odoo 19.0 documentation, Self-ordering).
Restaurants that want to start free on a commission-free ordering site and later pay per outlet for a branded app, loyalty and their own drivers
Deonde is an Indian white-label ordering and delivery platform whose restaurant product, Ressto, gives restaurants an ordering website with QR table ordering and table reservations, and on the top plan a branded iOS and Android app, loyalty and a driver app. A separate Deonde Express line ($99 to $399 a month) is for multi-vendor delivery marketplaces. Ressto has a free plan (100 orders a month, cash only) and paid plans at $39 and $99 per restaurant a month, with 0% commission on every plan.
Price
Free plan · from $39/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
The restaurant connects its own gateway account and receives the money directly. Ressto lists Stripe, Razorpay, PayPal, SumUp, Xendit, Authorize.Net, Clover, USAePay, CardConnect and Bambora (Worldline), plus cash on delivery and pay at counter. Deonde's FAQ adds PayFort, Telr, Paystack, Flutterwave, MTN Mobile Money, M-Pesa, Apple Pay and Google Pay, saying gateways vary by region, and its country pages mention GCash and Maya (Philippines) and Lanka QR (Sri Lanka). Online payments need Ressto Growth or above; the free Basic plan is cash only.
Includes: Own ordering website · QR table ordering · Pickup · Delivery orders · Your own drivers · Scheduled orders · Online payments · Loyalty · Marketing tools · Branded app · Multiple locations · Menu translation · Reservations
Free-forever Ressto Basic plan with an ordering website, up to 10 QR codes for ordering, table reservations and 0% commission, for up to 100 orders a month (Ressto pricing page).
0% commission on every plan and no per-order fees on Ressto plans; the restaurant uses its own payment gateway, with Stripe, Razorpay, PayPal, SumUp and six more listed (Ressto pricing and integrations pages).
The Scale plan ($99 per restaurant a month) includes a branded iOS and Android app published under the restaurant's name, a loyalty programme, and delivery management with a driver app and live tracking (Ressto pricing page).
The free Basic plan takes cash payments only, caps orders at 100 a month and carries Ressto's domain and branding; online payments start on Growth at $39 per restaurant a month (Ressto pricing page).
The branded app, loyalty, delivery management and driver app are only on Scale ($99 per restaurant a month), and POS integration is not in Basic, Growth or Scale; Ressto's POS page says it is available on custom plans.
Deonde's own pages disagree on plan details: the Basic menu-item limit is 50 on deonde.co but 200 on ressto.co, and the Ressto FAQ describes a $39 'Pro' plan with a branded app, while the pricing page puts the app in the $99 Scale plan.
UK restaurants and groups that want commission-free pickup, delivery and catering ordering under their own brand, with QR order & pay and pay-at-table on the Pro plan
Storekit is a London-based ordering platform for restaurants: branded pickup and delivery ordering on the restaurant's own domain, plus catering pre-orders, QR order & pay, pay-at-table, digital tabs, kiosks and a native branded app on higher plans. The Basic plan for pickup and delivery is free; the pricing page's plan cards show Grow at £99 and Pro at £199 a month, rolling, while its comparison table says 'from £82' and 'from £166'. Storekit takes 0% commission but charges its own card rate on every paid order through storekit Payments.
Price
Free plan · from £82/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
storekit Payments, powered by Adyen, takes cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay and regional payment methods (a June 2025 copy of the help centre has articles on accepting Klarna and on iDEAL in the Netherlands). Payouts arrive about two working days after the sales day. Payment currencies: GBP, EUR, USD, CAD, AUD, NZD, CHF, SEK, DKK, NOK, ZAR and ALL. The docs list Poland, Mexico, Turkey and Morocco as supported countries without storekit Payments.
Includes: Own ordering website · QR table ordering · Pickup · Delivery orders · Your own drivers · Scheduled orders · Online payments · Loyalty · Marketing tools · Branded app · Delivery-app integration · Multiple locations · Menu translation
0% commission on every plan and channel, no setup fee, and a free Basic plan for pickup and delivery with no monthly fee. Basic, Grow and Pro are rolling monthly, cancel any time (pricing page).
One platform for pickup, delivery, catering pre-orders, QR order & pay, pay-at-table, digital tabs, kiosks and a native branded app (App Studio). It works standalone or connects to the till: Deliverect on every plan, Toast, Square, Lightspeed and Stream from Grow, Syrve, Tissl and 3S POS on Pro (pricing page).
Delivery can go to the restaurant's own riders or be dispatched to couriers: Uber Direct and Shipday from Basic, Nash, Pedal Me and Orkestro from Grow (the homepage also names Deliveroo Express), with live tracking for guests (homepage, pricing page).
Every paid order carries Storekit's own card rate, and the current pricing page no longer publishes the figures. The docs list 3.9% + 20p per takeaway order on a rolling plan (2.9% + 20p on a 12-month plan) and 3.9% + 20p on catering.
In-venue and catering ordering need paid plans: QR order & pay, pay-at-table and digital tabs need Pro (£199 a month rolling), catering needs Grow (£99), and POS integrations other than Deliverect start on Grow. App Studio adds £99 a month and kiosks £69 a month plus £30 per extra screen (pricing page).
Loyalty, the till and table bookings come from other systems: loyalty and CRM integrations are not on Basic (Klaviyo, Leat and Como from Grow; Airship and Acteol on Pro), Storekit sits alongside an existing POS rather than replacing it, and bookings come through an OpenTable integration (pricing page, docs).
Small restaurants, cafés and home kitchens in almost any country that already take orders on WhatsApp and want a free menu link with local payment methods
Take App is a Singapore-built online store for WhatsApp: a restaurant gets a menu link where customers order for delivery, pickup or at the table by QR code, and each order arrives as a complete WhatsApp message and in a dashboard and phone app. It is a general store builder for many business types, with restaurant extras such as a mobile POS, a kitchen display and table reservations. The Basic plan is free and saves 50 orders a month, Business is $50 a month, and neither takes a commission.
Price
Free plan · from $50/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
Customers pay through the restaurant's own gateway account. Take App lists 32 gateways, including Stripe, PayPal, Xendit, Razorpay, Paystack, Flutterwave, Mercado Pago, M-Pesa Express, HitPay, Adyen, Paymob and Tap, and 128 payment methods in all. The country pages list local methods such as M-Pesa, Airtel, Paystack, Flutterwave and Pesapal in Kenya, and Mercado Pago, OXXO, CoDi and Clip in Mexico. Manual methods (bank transfer, QR such as PayNow, cash on delivery, with payment-proof upload) work on the free plan. Automatic card payments need Business. Take App says it never holds the restaurant's money.
Includes: Own ordering website · QR table ordering · Pickup · Delivery orders · Your own drivers · Scheduled orders · Online payments · POS · Loyalty · Marketing tools · WhatsApp ordering or updates · Multiple locations · Reservations
Free Basic plan with 0% commission and unlimited products, and 0% commission on the $50-a-month Business plan too (Take App pricing page).
Takes no payment-processing fee on any method: the connected gateway charges its own rate and pays the restaurant directly (Take App help centre, Payment Processing Fee).
Local payment methods in many markets, for example M-Pesa, Airtel, Pesapal, Paystack and Flutterwave in Kenya; Paystack, Flutterwave and NIBSS/NQR in Nigeria; and Mercado Pago, OXXO, CoDi and Clip in Mexico (Take App country pages; 32 gateways on the integrations page).
The free plan saves only 50 orders a month to the dashboard. After that, orders still reach the restaurant's WhatsApp but are not saved to the dashboard (Take App pricing page).
Card payments, automated WhatsApp order updates, a custom domain, the delivery-fee calculator, courier and driver tracking, loyalty and analytics all need the Business plan at $50 a month (Take App pricing comparison and FAQ).
Business includes 1,000 automated WhatsApp messages a month. After that, each message costs $0.05, and each store over five costs $8 (Take App pricing page).
Small restaurants that want a do-it-yourself website with online ordering, QR dine-in and table reservations built in
Wix Restaurants is the restaurant toolkit inside the Wix website builder: online menus, commission-free ordering for pickup, delivery and QR-code dine-in, table reservations and a loyalty program, all on the restaurant's own Wix site. It suits restaurants that want to build and run their own website and add ordering to it. The ordering app is free to install, but Wix says a site must be upgraded to take online orders and payments; the cheapest plan that accepts payments is Core at $29 a month billed yearly (US price), and card processing fees apply.
Price
From $29/mo
Commission
0%
Online payments
Wix Payments (cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayPal and more) for businesses in 15 countries: the US, Canada, UK, Brazil, Switzerland and 10 euro countries. Elsewhere, one of 100+ third-party providers such as PayPal, Stripe, MercadoPago, Razorpay, iyzico or Yoco; only one provider can process credit cards at a time. Square can be connected as the POS and payment provider. Customers can also pay cash.
Includes: Own ordering website · QR table ordering · Pickup · Delivery orders · Your own drivers · Scheduled orders · Online payments · POS · Loyalty · Marketing tools · Multiple locations · Menu translation · Reservations
No commission on online orders: Wix calls its restaurant ordering system commission-free, and the Restaurants Orders app is free to install (Wix restaurant page, Wix App Market).
Pickup, delivery with the restaurant's own delivery areas and fees, QR-code dine-in ordering and advance orders are managed from one dashboard, with up to 5 separate ordering pages and per-location staff access (Wix Help Center).
Table reservations with a visual floor plan, a points-based loyalty program, coupons, gift cards, multilingual menus and Order with Google are part of the same Wix Restaurants tools (Wix Help Center).
Online orders need an upgraded site: the cheapest plan that accepts payments is Core at $29 a month billed yearly (US). The free plan can only show the menu, and Light ($17) does not include accepting payments (Wix pricing page, Wix Help Center).
DoorDash Drive courier delivery works only in the US and Canada, only for the restaurant's default location, and only with online payment, not cash (Wix Help Center).
Toast and Clover POS can't be connected; Wix lists both as feature requests and suggests a webhook instead. Square is the POS Wix documents, and Square charges an extra 1% on orders paid through other providers (Wix Help Center).
Whether restaurants in South Africa can sign up and use it today: a local site, local pricing, local customers or a sign-up open to any country.
What it costs a small restaurant: the monthly price, any commission or per-order fee, and contracts.
What it does for ordering: your own website, QR table ordering, delivery, pickup and payments.
Menuthere is on the list because it is a real option here, and we put it where its strengths — no commission and a free plan — fit; its limits (such as payments outside India) are stated in its entry.
Nobody paid to be on this list. Prices change: check each company's own page before you sign.
Questions
Online ordering in South Africa, answered.
It depends on what you need. YUMBI is best for multi-location QSR and franchise brands in South Africa and other African markets that want their own branded website, apps and call centre tied into their existing POS; Lightspeed Restaurant is best for full-service and multi-location restaurants that want POS, online ordering and QR order-and-pay in one sales-led package; GAAP Point-of-Sale is best for south African franchise and quick-service restaurants on GAAP POS that want QR table ordering, pickup and order-ahead linked to their tills, kitchen screens and rewards; Menuthere is best for restaurants in South Africa that want their own ordering page with 0% commission and a free plan. The table on this page compares all 10 on price, commission and features.
Of the systems on this page, Lightspeed Restaurant, Menuthere, Odoo, Deonde, Storekit, Take App and Wix Restaurants take no commission on orders; card processing is still charged by the payment provider. Check each system's page for its fees.
Menuthere, Odoo, Deonde, Storekit and Take App have a free plan. The rest start at a monthly fee or are quoted per restaurant.
YUMBI: Quote only, commission Not published. YUMBI's invoice includes an order processing fee on orders (help centre billing article), and its help centre says YUMBI charges a commission on the order amount after any discount voucher (voucher FAQ). No rate is published.. Lightspeed Restaurant: From $69/mo, commission 0%. GAAP Point-of-Sale: Quote only, commission Not published. GAAP does not state a per-order commission or fee for orders taken through its e-commerce app.. Menuthere: Free plan · from $9/mo, commission 0%. FoodChow: From ₹5,475 one-time, commission 1.8% per order on every plan (the pricing page's 'Per Order Commisson' row; its FAQ calls it a 1.8% transaction fee on every order). The same pricing page, the Features page and the homepage say cash orders carry 0% commission, and the homepage sign-up form promises 'zero commission'.. Odoo: Free plan · from $31.10/mo, commission 0%. Deonde: Free plan · from $39/mo, commission 0%. Storekit: Free plan · from £82/mo, commission 0%. Take App: Free plan · from $50/mo, commission 0%. Wix Restaurants: From $29/mo, commission 0%.
Not yet: customers pay cash, on delivery or at pickup (card payments are planned). Menuthere charges 0% commission on every plan.
What the delivery apps charge restaurants in South Africa: Uber Eats · Mr D